Lowest-Power Consumption Nas/HTPC Build

Diogenes5

May 12, 2014
Good information is somewhat hard to find so I would appreciate any good input.

Currently my leading option is:

CPU: Intel Pentium G3220 @ 3.0Ghz ($45)
MB: Gigabyte GA-H81M, LGA 1150, 2x240pin, DDR3 1600, PCI Express 2x16 ($55)
RAM: Generic 4 GB 1 stick - $42
HD : Hitachi 4tb Coolspin and Seagate 4TB 7200 drive (already own)
Power: Corsair 430W System Builder - $35
Case: Either Corsair 250D (About $90) or CM Elite 130 Mini ITX Case ($35 at Microcenter)

Total cost: $212 (I live near microcenter so certain prices are relatively low)

My main alternative would be to buy a J2900-based board instead of the Pentium and Giabyte motherboard. There are none out right now except for an ECS version that is about $100 (would rather avoid ECS as a brand). I would probably wait for a more reliable manufacturer such as Gigabyte or MSI to make one.

My main use would to have a home NAS that is running near 24/7. I have an MSDN subscription for work so I could have WHS2012 on it. As a nas it would be for mild backup purposes and a NAS for the various devices and tablets in the house. It would serve as an HTPC (XBMC) as well possibly replacing my WD Live Streaming which is becoming sluggish in use. I would like to use it also as possibly as a web-server for my blog and cloud storage with bitorrent sync.

From what I've read, the Bay Trail Devices out only use 10W at max and generally use around 30W in a system with a Pico power supply.

The Pentium is rated at about 55W TDP and from everything I've read and most pentium/celeron systems seem to take about 50W in a server setting but require active cooling.

My main priority is to have enough compute to do basic Nas tasks and run XBMC in the smallest, quietest form factor possible. Scalability towards running a web server and possibly a steam-streaming client in the future would be nice but not absolutely necessary.