Low cost gray card options

Fardringle

Diamond Member
Oct 23, 2000
I apologize for the "book". If you don't want to read the whole thing, the short version is that I'm looking for a very inexpensive but still reasonably effective gray card.

I'm not a professional photographer by any means (yet ;)), but I'd definitely like to start getting the most out of my photos. I'm using a Fuji s6000fd camera. It's not a true SLR but it has many of the same features and functions including an SLR-like lens permanently attached to the body and full manual controls of the lens, exposure white balance, shutter speed, ISO, etc.

I have a lot to do before I get to post card quality but overall I'm pretty happy with a good portion of my landscape and outdoor shots. However, my indoor shots frequently leave quite a bit to be desired. They sometimes turn out great, sometimes turn out too dark or too yellow, and other times get flooded too much by the flash, particularly when photographing people even with the flash set to the very lowest setting. The camera's built in white balance options help a little bit but not nearly enough, and a few of the settings even make the color balance worse. I'm working on balancing aperture, exposure bracketing and shutter speeds to avoid using the flash when I can get away with it and that helps somewhat with the flash issue but I'm still not happy with many of the results.

I've been studying photos and tutorials online from various professional photographers and many of them recommend using a gray card for proper white balance when shooting indoors. I can't afford any of the true professional options so I'm looking for something that will work reasonably well but won't break the bank.