Losing my memory.

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Rudy Toody, Jun 10, 2017.

  1. Rudy Toody

    Rudy Toody Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have 4 x 8Gb Radeon DDR3 memory sticks, which I will give to a cruncher who can use them. Email me your mailing address and I will send them. (I'm upgrading to a Ryzen, which requires DDR4.)

    Taken.
     
    #1 Rudy Toody, Jun 10, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2017
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Losing memory Forum Date
    memory leak in Xorg while DC'ing? Distributed Computing Mar 24, 2015
    Losing a bunch of offtime servers Distributed Computing Mar 27, 2011
    F@H: are my SMP clients supposed to stop crunching when i lose wireless connection? Distributed Computing May 20, 2008
    S@H - I'm losing my mini work fleet tommorow *sniff* Distributed Computing Nov 9, 2005
    Voyager program may lose it's funding Distributed Computing May 9, 2005

  3. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    381
    Very generous! I think Kiska might need some extra RAM more than any of us right now, but if he can't use it, I'm always looking to build, expand, and upgrade.
     
  4. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    61
    I unfortunately can't use them as I need registered memory, and these aren't :(
     
  5. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    427
    You mean you are upgrading to a ThreadRipper, right? :)

    Very generous of you, and good to see you!
     
  6. Orange Kid

    Orange Kid Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    211
    I'd love it, but my old boards are 4gig max slots :(
     
  7. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    427
    Fred, make SURE you get the fastest DDR4 you can afford, there are multiple reports that RYZEN has some internal communication that runs at the same speed as the RAM, so the faster the RAM, the faster the chip!
     
  8. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    381
    @Rudy Toody , I could not find an email in your profile, so you have a PM.
     
  9. Rudy Toody

    Rudy Toody Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    35
    It will leave Seattle on Monday.
     
    crashtech likes this.
  10. Rudy Toody

    Rudy Toody Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have 1700x waiting for mobo and memory. I'll double check my mobo pick to see if it will upgrade.
     
  11. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,120
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Sorry, Rudy, but ThreadRipper is a different socket (LGA, with like 4000+ "pins"), altogether. Regular Ryzen CPUs don't fit X399, and vice-versa.

    It may be possible to fit an EPYC server CPU (4 8-core dies, MCM'ed to make a 32-core monster) on those boards, since the sockets are essentially the same.

    I think Tennessee Tony was just hinting that you should have aimed bigger, for more threads.

    That's OK, though, I'm in the process of building my second Ryzen 5 1600 rig. I'm calling the pair "ThreadRipper Lite".
     
  12. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    381
    Well I got the memory, so now I feel like paying it forward a bit. I don't think I have anything as good as what Rudy gave me, but I do have a Radeon HD 5870 and/or a Pentium G3220, and/or a Celeron G1620 that are free to a good DCer's home.

    Perhaps I ought to start another thread...?
     
    Rudy Toody and TennesseeTony like this.
  13. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    381
    Nobody wants my junk? I'm going to have a G3420 available soon as well, which ran a GTX 1060 Folding rig with no handicap at all.
     
  14. iwajabitw

    iwajabitw Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    97
    I'll take last place on your 5870 if no one else chimes in. I still have a vista system I pulled a 280x out of I could house it in. But only if no one else wants to jump in and run it 24/7...Do to the AC running all the time I am shut down between our sprints.
     
    Rudy Toody likes this.
  15. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,064
    Likes Received:
    381
    Consider it yours, my friend! I am maxed out on the number of machines (11) at this point, so my only way forward is to move to faster internals.

    So, I have those dual cores, and also a few sticks of mismatched 2GB DDR3, any takers?