Looking for surround system with ~$400 budget

Crono

Lifer
Aug 8, 2001
I have no experience when it comes to home theater setups, but just ordered a HDTV for my parents and now I'm looking to get a surround system to pair with it. Budget is $400 for sound system. It doesn't matter if it's a home theater in a box or separate receiver/speaker setup, I just want to get the best bang for the buck, and want everything to get here by next week if I order it tomorrow (I have Amazon Prime, so anything from Amazon with Prime shipping is a plus).

I have about $350 reserved for a dedicated Blu-ray player, PS3, or possibly a HTPC (I've got a spare HTPC case already) - haven't decided yet on which route to go for Blu-ray playback.

The room is 22 x 18 feet, pretty much empty at the moment.
Any recommendations on 5.1 or 7.1 set that fits my budget and would work well for movies, music, video games, etc.?

TV is this.

Last edited:

Smoove910

Golden Member
Aug 2, 2006

vshah

Lifer
Sep 20, 2003
is it an option to start with a 2.0 setup and expand as time goes on? $400 is a tough budget, especially for that size room...

Anubis

No Lifer
Aug 31, 2001
tbqhwy.com
that's a pretty huge room for a tiny budget, i agree with vshas, start with 2.0 or 3.0 and go from there

first off do you rents even want/need surround sound? also forget about 7.1 on that budget

poofyhairguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2005
Jeez you all are picky. The system is for the OP's rents, not for himself. Given the rents budget, they probably don't have half the expectations of anyone in the forum.

To OP:

I have the older version of this set. It fits your budget and should work well with whatever Blu Ray player you decide to get (as long as it decodes in the box like the PS3 does):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-431-_-Product

Crono

Lifer
Aug 8, 2001
Actually, I was looking at the Onkyo before.

No, they don't need high end audio and probably could do without 5.1.