Looking for some power supply advice, need 600+ watts?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by jimbob200521, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    Been having some random computer shut downs when under full load in games which makes gaming a little hard. Seeing as how I've tried all the software solutions I could think of (drivers, windows update, game update, even a fresh install of Windows 7), I'm looking at hardware. My first culprit is my now aging, under powered PSU. The system I'm running is a Core 2 Duo 2.8ghz (want to go Core 2 Quad soon for what that's worth), Radeon 6790, also have a Radeon 4850 for my 3rd and 4th display (had it lying around, cheaper than ordering two active Displayport adapters and no it's not this, had the issue before I installed this card), a 128gb SSD, 5 SATA hard drives (ranging in size from 400gb to 1.5tb), X-FI sound card, and 6gb RAM. All this is running off of an aging 470 watt PC Power & Cooling unit.

    I'm trying to keep a budget of about $65, which I know won't get me a top of the line PSU, but also keep me out of the bargin basement units. I've got these two picked so far

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182200

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182278

    but am really looking for some input or suggestions as it's been a little too long since I've been as into PC Hardware as I used to be. Any help is appreciated, thanks!!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - power supply advice Forum Date
    Need Advice: convert apc to 12Vdc power supply Power Supplies Aug 21, 2015
    Any advice about power supply for new build? Power Supplies Nov 24, 2013
    Power Supply Advice Power Supplies Apr 26, 2012
    Testing advice needed: Is my power supply still safe to use? Power Supplies Nov 14, 2010
    Need Advice Buying a Power Supply Power Supplies Aug 9, 2010

  3. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    30
    The PC Power and Cooling unit seems to be rated for 26 amps on the 12 volt rail, meaning 312 watts max can be pulled from that. These days, PSUs have more powerful 12 volt rails. Or it could be the capacitors failing since this PCPAC unit might have been made 8 years ago.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9028&Tpk=cx600

    For the CX600, the 12v rail is not quite as beefy as the Rosewills, but it is much cheaper if you get it today. -$12 instant savings and then a $20 rebate to come out to 37.99 if all goes well.
     
  4. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    Good eye, I was actually just about to pull the trigger on this basic Antec unit

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo

    But I like the one you posted better, thanks!
     
  5. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    What do you use your PC for?

    Those Rosewill units have poor warranty. Corsair CX600 ($38 AR AP today!) should be adequate with 552W on a single +12V. Will need to use one 4-pin molex -> 6-pin adapter, I think your GPUs need three in total.
     
  6. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    I use it as mostly a do all PC. A little bit of Office 2012 for work, XBMC on the 60" for entertainment before bed, gaming when the g/f is at work, internet browsing though out the day. And no, the 6970 requires 2 connectors, the 4850 does not (I may be quoting the wrong model number for the second video card, but I know it does not require 2 power connectors).
     
  7. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    That's what I meant. Two connectors for one card, one for the other, total 3. CX600 has two.

    However earlier you wrote 6790 which also needs two connectors (based on 6870 PCB).

    6970 is quite a different beast as it consumes much more power.. I'd like to have 650w for that kind of setup, tbh
     
  8. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    Looking back, my wording wasn't the best earlier; the second video card does not require any extra power connectors, I only require a total of two PCI-E 6 pin power connectors, both of which are going to go to the 6790.

    I ended up looking through a lot of reviews on the CX600 before I made the purchase and wasn't that impressed with what people had to say about it so I ended up ordering the Antec BP550 anyway. It's from a brand I trust, 80 Plus Certified (which I couldn't seem to reliably verify with the Corsair, even on there own site), plenty of connectors for my needs, and just seems to have a reputation of being a simple, solid unit.
     
  9. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    30
    The CX600 is on its third iteration and that one is the one that is 80 Plus Bronze certified. The original one was not 80 Plus Certified at all, but it managed to reach 80% efficency at some loads, according to a review at Hardware Secrets. With Newegg, they always put old PSUs out of stock well before other stores do.

    Like with most products, it is an either/or matter most of the time. Either you get a manufacturing dud or you get one that just works. Most likely, the CX600 is bought more often than others due to its lower price and Corsair's brand name, hence more bad apparent bad apples.

    All that being said, the BP550 Plus isn't a bad unit at all, though, being manufactured by Delta, and it is modular.
    The XFX Core Edition 550w or the Seasonic S12II would have been good choices too, with stonger 12v rails.
     
  10. TemjinGold

    TemjinGold Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    64
    Please clarify one thing: Do you have a 6790 or a 6970? They are two VERY different cards with completely different power requirements.
     
  11. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
  12. blankslate

    blankslate Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,327
    Likes Received:
    56
  13. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    I'm pretty sure a 4850 requires a power connector. Are you sure it's a 4850? What make/model

    CX600 is 80+ Bronze certified, so it's more efficient than BP550. And it's less expensive. I think you should've got the Corsair unit instead... :/
     
    #12 lehtv, Feb 19, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  14. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    The biggest thing that swayed me away from it is reading one too many people complaining that its an over rated PSU that let a lot of people down because that line used to be pretty good. Now I guess its mediocre at best.
     
  15. Rezist

    Rezist Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should need 3, 6 pic pcie connectors atleast my 4850 required one
     
  16. jimbob200521

    jimbob200521 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,098
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'll get the model number of the second card tonight but I know for a fact that it does not need a power connector for it, I pulled the card last night to test something and while I didn't think to grab the model number, it didn't have any power leads on it. So, once again for all helping, I only need a total of 2 PCI-E power leads for my main video card, the mystery 2nd card does NOT REQUIRE any power leads.
     
  17. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Get Thermaltake ToughPower 650w or 750w . Mines been running for over 5 years and still going strong like a rock.