Question Looking for a new router that can handle lots of devices

weblooker2021

Senior member
Jan 18, 2021
749
254
96
My Asus AC-87U is dead. I need to get a new router however i have multiple devices. I got around 25 light switches on 2.4mhz with many of them being connected to AP but this router will handle all of the DHCP. I also got hardwired POE system with 10 cameras in addition to few computers. Lastly i do heavily use opevpn. Any recommendation what will work for me?
 

UsandThem

Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
15,672
6,645
146
I bought the Asus RT-AX86U around 4 months ago, and I've been extremely happy with its performance and reliability. There are four people who live here and use it for a lot of things, and it handles all the clients very well.
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,246
7,687
126
I just ordered another AX4800 router from D-Link. They had some open-box ones from Amazon warehouse for like $120-140 recently the last month or so.

It's kind of an obscure model, and has less-than-deluxe firmware, but seemingly supports D-Link's mesh features, and it's an AX router with WPA3 (no 6Ghz channels though), and 160Mhz channel width, which should increase capable AC client bandwidth as well, and is rare to find in sub-$150 routers. (Normal price for these is $220.)

I considered an AX86U/AX87U, but those were $250, and this one was a little over $100 (open-box).
 

weblooker2021

Senior member
Jan 18, 2021
749
254
96
I just ordered another AX4800 router from D-Link. They had some open-box ones from Amazon warehouse for like $120-140 recently the last month or so.

It's kind of an obscure model, and has less-than-deluxe firmware, but seemingly supports D-Link's mesh features, and it's an AX router with WPA3 (no 6Ghz channels though), and 160Mhz channel width, which should increase capable AC client bandwidth as well, and is rare to find in sub-$150 routers. (Normal price for these is $220.)

I considered an AX86U/AX87U, but those were $250, and this one was a little over $100 (open-box).
At this point if i am going to spend money, i might as well spend $100 extra and get WIFI6. Am i wrong in thinking that wifi 6 is here to stay for a long time?
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,246
7,687
126
At this point if i am going to spend money, i might as well spend $100 extra and get WIFI6. Am i wrong in thinking that wifi 6 is here to stay for a long time?
The router that I mentioned is an AX router, which is "Wifi 6". Did you mean, you might as well wait and get Wifi 6E? That won't be out in Client devices for another year or two, before that becomes a thing. The only Wifi 6E router that I know of is the Asus ROG STRIX AX11000 6E router, which is $549.

Are you slightly confused by the fact that I said that the D-Link AX4800 doesn't support 6Ghz channels? That's Wifi 6E, Wifi 6 is actually 5Ghz, and is fully supported on that router (including 160Mhz channels!).

Most Wifi 6 (5Ghz) routers, under $150, do NOT support the full performance specs, which included 160Mhz channels.
 
Last edited:

weblooker2021

Senior member
Jan 18, 2021
749
254
96
The router that I mentioned is an AX router, which is "Wifi 6". Did you mean, you might as well wait and get Wifi 6E? That won't be out in Client devices for another year or two, before that becomes a thing. The only Wifi 6E router that I know of is the Asus ROG STRIX AX11000 6E router, which is $549.

Are you slightly confused by the fact that I said that the D-Link AX4800 doesn't support 6Ghz channels? That's Wifi 6E, Wifi 6 is actually 5Ghz, and is fully supported on that router (including 160Mhz channels!).

Most Wifi 6 (5Ghz) routers, under $150, do NOT support the full performance specs, which included 160Mhz channels.
Yes you confused me with "doesn't support 6GHZ channels" part. Why get something that do not support full performance specs? Basically why not spend $100 more for something better?
 

mxnerd

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2007
6,390
973
126
Not against higher frequencies, but you should know higher frequencies = less penetration & shorter distance.

 
Last edited:

mv2devnull

Golden Member
Apr 13, 2010
1,403
95
91
The router that I mentioned is an AX router, which is "Wifi 6". Did you mean, you might as well wait and get Wifi 6E?
Who invents these names?
Wasn't the intention of Wifi 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 names to simplify the former alphabet soup a/b/g/n/ac/ad/ah/ax?
What is "6E" then? A hex? "Wifi 110" in decimal? What did happen to 7-109?
 
  • Haha
Reactions: aigomorla

SamMaster

Member
Jun 26, 2010
123
57
101
6E is 6 with a new available 6GHz frequency band, essentially
Who invents these names?
Wasn't the intention of Wifi 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 names to simplify the former alphabet soup a/b/g/n/ac/ad/ah/ax?
What is "6E" then? A hex? "Wifi 110" in decimal? What did happen to 7-109?
 

fkoehler

Member
Feb 29, 2008
159
81
101
Yes you confused me with "doesn't support 6GHZ channels" part. Why get something that do not support full performance specs? Basically why not spend $100 more for something better?
I wouldn't but a D-Link at all, however for a cheap Wifi6 AIOR, its not a bad price if they work.
Getting the AX86U/AX87U for an extra $100 for features x/y/z, depends on what those features are and if you actually need them. Actually, I'd probably spend the extra just because its an Asus and not a D-Link. IIRC, there are only a couple of actual Wifi6 chipsets out there anyways but I have a bit more faith in Asus.

Do you actually have 802.11ax devices that could use Wifi6 that would make purchasing sense?
 
  • Like
Reactions: weblooker2021

weblooker2021

Senior member
Jan 18, 2021
749
254
96
I wouldn't but a D-Link at all, however for a cheap Wifi6 AIOR, its not a bad price if they work.
Getting the AX86U/AX87U for an extra $100 for features x/y/z, depends on what those features are and if you actually need them. Actually, I'd probably spend the extra just because its an Asus and not a D-Link. IIRC, there are only a couple of actual Wifi6 chipsets out there anyways but I have a bit more faith in Asus.

Do you actually have 802.11ax devices that could use Wifi6 that would make purchasing sense?
Yes i got 3 devices that can take advantage of it.
 

aigomorla

Cases and Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
Super Moderator
Sep 28, 2005
19,421
1,761
126
All in One Routers which heavily uses WIFI are all destined to overheat and die, unless you put them over some kind of laptop cooler.
If your really serious, i would consider a Pfsense Box + dedicated Access point. (ubiquiti or engenius) or you can go full out and grab a Cisco Meraki (Budget prosumer).
But this route may cost you a bit more, especially depending on the access point.
 

fkoehler

Member
Feb 29, 2008
159
81
101
So OP has 25 wlan devices, and at least 10 cctv's, along with some systems most likely.

I picked up some Aruba 205 Instant AP's recently for like $30-40/ea, which will handle WLAN DHCP.
Picked up a Cisco SG200-10FP GB w/POE for like $30, but had to build a power brick for it costing another $25.
Got an Rpi 4b for the router, running OpenWRT, which has the re-newed Wireguard package.
Just need time to run my cabling and config later this week.
A lot of people are having no problems getting 900+Mb WAN throughput with the RPi.
I'm looking at about $170 or so for total cost for an OSS router on pretty fast hardware, with a solid Gb Cisco switch and some of the best AP's (AC) in the industry.

You could do similar, or just get a decent consumer AIO and add a POE switch below it. https://www.ebay.com/itm/233998009388?hash=item367b5e442c:g:h9wAAOSwq0Vgk-o9&LH_BIN=1
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mv2devnull

ASK THE COMMUNITY