Live update wants 128 megs

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by StageLeft, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. StageLeft

    StageLeft No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    70,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 360 made 6 weeks ago and Live wants to take up 128 megs of its space with an update. WIthout the update I cannot connect. Is it telling a porky pie, or is it really going to blow away half of my available space (i have no memory card nor intent to buy one yet)?

    Also, two bonus questions:

    1) Can I use a USB card or other in lieu of an official xbox mem card (I doubt it)
    2) DivX playback--is this supported via the "official" 360 updates? I put in a disc with a divx file on it and was told I needed an update (which of course I cannot get without a live connection...).

    Thanks!
     
  2. Queasy

    Queasy Moderator<br>Console Gaming

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2001
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's NXE (the new dash). It requires 128MBs to be installed. Your best bet is to order a 20GB HDD from MS or get one off of eBay.

    1) No
    2) You have to download a video codec update to get Divx/Xvid support. I can't remember if it will work with a memory card. But I'd get the HDD anyways.
     
  3. StageLeft

    StageLeft No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    70,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, really, the Xbox arcade does not have 256 internal memory and xbox silver; it has one of those, but not both. I'm not going to weep over that, but that is a little deceptive.
     
  4. Queasy

    Queasy Moderator<br>Console Gaming

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2001
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    You apparently got a Falcon Arcade which does not come with the 256MB internal memory. Just the memory card. I don't think they were ever advertised as having 256MB internal memory. The new Jasper Arcades come with the 256MB internal memory however.

    BTW, Here is the link to get a 20GB HDD for your Arcade + 3 months of Live Gold from MS for $30.
     
  5. StageLeft

    StageLeft No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    70,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure from the jasper thread that it is a jasper but with a 175 W falcon power supply. In any case, rest assured there is no memory card that I can find (unless it's hidden somewhere!). Also, when I first connected just now, it did download "something" and I have the new, green NXE dashboard (based on pics I saw), but still it's asking for 128 megs to finish things up!

     
  6. Queasy

    Queasy Moderator<br>Console Gaming

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2001
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I missed the part where you said you didn't have a memory card. You do have a Jasper then. And yeah, NXE requires 128MB of space which is why MS came out with the program to get a 20GB HDD from them for cheap.
     
  7. StageLeft

    StageLeft No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    70,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so they were naughty but are trying to make amends. I really ought to just grab that 20 GB. In any case, I'm DLing the update now, what the heck :)

    Thanks!

     
  8. CrackRabbit

    CrackRabbit Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Getting a hdd is well worth it, besides more space to download demos and save games you can copy games to the hdd and play them from there. (still have to have the disc in the drive though :()
     
  9. vi edit

    vi edit Elite Member <br> Super Moderator
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 1999
    Messages:
    56,215
    Likes Received:
    17
  10. StageLeft

    StageLeft No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    70,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is good--so $10 extra gets no gold 3 month membership, but gets a wireless controller!

     
  11. UpgradeFailure

    UpgradeFailure Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a heads up, if you want more space (but no controller) for the past few weeks Circuit City has been cleaning out the 120GB hard drive for $99. If you can find one, and if you buy a coke or something to get the total over $100 they have $15 off $100 coupons up at checkout lanes. You can sell the transfer cable that comes with the HD for $40 on ebay too

    100-15-40=$45ish for a 120GB hard drive. That's what I did. I really like installing games and having tons of free space
     
  12. mugs

    mugs Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    48,895
    Likes Received:
    1
    Woah woah woah... Microsoft replaced the 256 MB Memory Unit with 256 MB internal memory in the Jasper Arcades? Damnit, I just advised a friend that if he bought an arcade he'd be able to use the included memory card to move his provide back and forth between the Arcade and his other 360. If he has to buy a memory card now, he might as well have bought a 60 GB 360. The Amazon.com product description still says 256 MB Memory Unit. :| (capitalized like that, same as the product that bears that name)
     
  13. bdubyah

    bdubyah Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, that is, if he gets a Jasper. no guarantee that he will.