- Jun 23, 2001
- 13,674
- 1
- 76
If anyone is watching the US Championship game, I have a question regarding the 3rd run scored by the Hawaiian team.
It was a play at the plate, the catcher had the ball in possession (it was firmly in his glove), the base runner slides into the catcher's foot (which is blocking the plate), the catcher topples over and still has the ball in his glove when he falls, but the umpire calls the runner safe.
Now, it is my understanding that if you have possession of the ball, any part of you can touch a base runner and they'll be out. Does it have to be the glove? Couldn't you tag someone out with your cleat as long as you had possession of the ball?
Did the umpire just make a horrible call? It would have made the game 2-0 with two outs, instead of the 3-0 and one out.
You hate to blame the umpire, but WTF was up with that call?
It was a play at the plate, the catcher had the ball in possession (it was firmly in his glove), the base runner slides into the catcher's foot (which is blocking the plate), the catcher topples over and still has the ball in his glove when he falls, but the umpire calls the runner safe.
Now, it is my understanding that if you have possession of the ball, any part of you can touch a base runner and they'll be out. Does it have to be the glove? Couldn't you tag someone out with your cleat as long as you had possession of the ball?
Did the umpire just make a horrible call? It would have made the game 2-0 with two outs, instead of the 3-0 and one out.
You hate to blame the umpire, but WTF was up with that call?