Lets say the QB throws an interception and the player fumbles the ball and recovered by the offense again

her209

No Lifer
Oct 11, 2000
56,336
11
0
Is the down and yardage set back to 1st and 10?

EDIT: Follow up question.

Okay, lets assume the down doesn't reset. Assume the offense is at the 50 yard line, its 2nd and 10. The ball is thrown and intercepted, the defensive player fumbles the ball at the 30 yard line on the offense side of the field, and is recovered by the offense. Is it now 3rd and 30?
 

Injury

Lifer
Jul 19, 2004
13,066
2
81
No, the down must end with the ball in the posession of the other team before the downs are reset...

in other words, it's not what happens on the play, it's how the play ends that counts.
 

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
102,393
8,552
126
well it happened with texas tech and nebraska to end the game, but i don't know if the downs were reset. technically, possession changed when the ball was intercepted, then changed again on the fumble recovery, so i would think it was a new 1st and 10.
 
Jun 27, 2005
19,216
1
61
1st & 10.

When a team acquires the ball on a turnover their next offensive play (barring penalty, touchdown or starting closer than 10 yards to the end zone) will be 1st & 10.
 

her209

No Lifer
Oct 11, 2000
56,336
11
0
Originally posted by: Whoozyerdaddy
When a team acquires the ball on a turnover their next offensive play (barring penalty, touchdown or starting closer than 10 yards to the end zone) will be 1st & 10.
Is it still ruled a turnover even if the down doesn't end up with the ball in the other team's possession?
 

Accipiter22

Banned
Feb 11, 2005
7,942
2
0
yeah it is......if the other team intercepts the ball, and the interceptor fumbles the ball back to the offense...that's a new set of downs for the offense.
 

spidey07

No Lifer
Aug 4, 2000
65,469
5
76
Originally posted by: Accipiter22
yeah it is......if the other team intercepts the ball, and the interceptor fumbles the ball back to the offense...that's a new set of downs for the offense.

I'm pretty sure this is the case as well. There was a change of possession.

It avoids the OPs follup scenario - which would unfairly penalize the offense.