Left 4 Dead 2 versus Left 4 Dead?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

shurato

Platinum Member
Sep 24, 2000
I recently started playing L4D2 again. Forgot how frustrating or fun it can be. Mostly frustrating. Agree with jordanecmusic. L4D1 is a scary thrill ride like a George Romero movie. L4D2 is a goofy gore movie like Zombiefest. Both entertaining in their own respects though.

zerocool84

Lifer
Nov 11, 2004
When L4D3 comes out, I'll buy it when it comes cheap. The first two just don't have a ton of replay value even with multiplayer. Too little content to last a long time.

Aluvus

Platinum Member
Apr 27, 2006
The first two just don't have a ton of replay value even with multiplayer. Too little content to last a long time.

Honestly I would say L4D2 has the best replay value of any game I've bought in years. It helps that I talked several friends into buying it (especially since we have enough to occasionally play Versus). The fact that there are only a few campaigns is mostly a non-issue: every play-through is different. Different people, different weapons, different zombies, different tactics. Team Fortress 2 also only has a limited number of maps, and yet there's plenty of replay value there.

I have both games. I can tell you Left4Dead1 is much better than Left4Dead2. If you want more skilled players to play with, L4D1 is your game. If you want more people to play with, L4D2 is your game. If you want to panic because the zombies got you, play Left4Dead1. If you want to panic because the special infected got you, play Left4Dead2.

I will certainly agree that L4D1 is much grittier and scarier. But I would say that L4D2 is significantly more fun. It's over-the-top and ridiculous at times, but I enjoy that aspect of it.

Zenoth

Diamond Member
Jan 29, 2005