Laptop cannot connect to wireless, cannot connect thru ethernet cable

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by desperate_one, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. desperate_one

    desperate_one Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help! My laptop never used to have issues with connecting to routers. But ever since we replaced the router, my laptop can no longer connect to the wireless. My brother's laptop can still connect to the wireless. Although my laptop cannot detect my wireless, it is able to detect my neighbour's wireless.

    Also tried connecting LAN cable to my laptop to the router, I am unable to get internet access as well. I tried repair, fixing the internet connection but my laptop is unable to fix it. im running on windows vista x32 and a d-link router 192.168.0.1 . here is a snapshot of the cmd/ipconfig/all page from my brother's laptop that can connect to the wireless connection at home:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : User-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B125 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 44-6D-57-1E-1D-8A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a477:f214:6173:ef3f%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.18(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 15, 2012 12:52:35 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 15, 2012 3:22:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 390360407
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-D8-CA-69-04-7D-7B-9A-07-08

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.156.1.16
    218.186.2.16
    218.186.2.6
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Con
    troller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 04-7D-7B-9A-07-08
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5ADFB598-8E28-4B77-BF1D-6C47B3CD79C9}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{33509B41-60EB-41BC-A570-7778E7277B95}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:244c:257c:3f57:ffed(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::244c:257c:3f57:ffed%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    The ipcong/all details on MY laptop which would not connect is:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\adminNUS>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : u0708341
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-58-84-AE-77
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-7C-91-5B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7E-F7-21-27
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    I logged onto 192.168.0.1 and these are the details I got of my router:

    Network Configuration
    LAN
    IP Address: . . .
    MAC Address 00:24:01:de:ad:05
    WAN
    IP Address: 116.89.115.2
    MAC Address: 00:26:5a:56:a3:bf
    Duration D: 00 H: 04 M: 00 S: 00
    Expires: Sat Sep 15 17:42:56 2012
    IPv4 DNS Servers: 202.156.1.16
    218.186.2.16
    218.186.2.6

    if anyone has a clue on how i should troubleshoot this i would really appreciate it! thank you!!!

    Sorry i'm like a tech retard so if you have any ideas, could you provide detailed steps to troubleshoot this thank you!!!!

    Another update: I tried importing the network settings from my brother's laptop using a USB key but it did not work. I imported the network settings to my laptop and it told me that the wizard could not create the wireless connection. However, it shows up if I click under "manage wireless networks" however.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Laptop connect wireless Forum Date
    Wireless on laptop sees/connects to networks but no internet(local access only) Computer Help Aug 25, 2011
    new laptop drops wireless connection Computer Help Jun 20, 2008
    Help with dell laptop wireless connection please!!! Computer Help Dec 27, 2007
    New laptop, how do I make wireless connect? Computer Help Dec 21, 2005
    My wireless connection keeps getting dropped on my laptop :( Computer Help May 21, 2005

  3. Puppies04

    Puppies04 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,911
    Likes Received:
    9
    I had an issue like this where an older device could not connect wirelessly because the router was broadcasting on a channel that it did not recognise. That said I do not see how you would still be unable to connect through a LAN.

    Try changing the encryption type on the router to see if you get any joy.

    Post back with your results and hopefully someone with a bit more technical knowledge might be able to help you out.
     
  4. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,939
    Likes Received:
    100
    Your wifi adapter is only capable of A/B/G connections:

    Your new router is most likely N capable, and is also probably broadcasting in N-only mode. Try setting the router to G and N. If that doesn't work, lower the encryption to WPA or WEP and try again (WPA2 is recommended, but we're just trying to figure out why yours isn't working).

    As for the wired connection, make sure you are plugging into the correct port on the back of the router, and try a different cable if possible.
     
  5. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    +1

    The router is clearly transmitting only a wireless N signal. You should be able to detect it after you change the wireless settings in the router setup as AnonymouseUser suggests.

    Now, the issue of wired connections is something totally different. Are you running a firewall or any other type of security software? If so, it could be blocking a wired connection. The easiest way to tell would be to try disabling the security software temporarily and see if it makes a difference.

    You can also check the router setup to make sure the wired ethernet ports are not disabled. If you hook your brother's laptop up via ethernet cable instead of wireless, does it connect to the network?

    It is also entirely possible that you have a defective router. Years ago, d-link was a pretty decent brand; however, nowadays most of the stuff they sell now is junk that isn't worth the box it is packaged in.
     
  6. desperate_one

    desperate_one Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys so much for the advice!

    I tried connecting the ethernet cable to my brother's laptop and it didn't work indeed so I guess it's the router that has disabled that setting.. any ideas how to enable it? i'm using a DCM-604 model d-link router and tried googling it but could not find the solution...

    the bigger problem is that when i log into 192.168.0.1 residential gateway website of dlink, i am unable to locate the option to change the mixed signals... all i can see is 802.11 Radio and im unable to change that to mixed mode.. if anyone has an idea how to change it? Thank you!! You guys are probably right on this!! thank you!!!
     
  7. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    The DCM-604 is not just a router, it is actually a gateway cable modem with built-in wireless and a 4 port switch.

    I don't see any provisions in the manual for disabling the onboard LAN ports. Did you buy this modem yourself, or was it provided by your cable company? If you bought it yourself, where did you get it (i.e. a retail store, eBay, etc)? If it was provided by your cable company, it is entirely possible that they have locked down the setup and in that case you'll need to talk to them.

    It is also possible that you have a defective unit.
     
  8. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,939
    Likes Received:
    100
    Looking at the specs, it doesn't actually support Wireless N (!), so it may be the security settings giving you problems. Lower it to WPA or WEP and try again.
     
  9. desperate_one

    desperate_one Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you anonymouseuser and steltek!!! Lowering it from WPA to WEP worked!! Everything is working fine now :)) cheers!!!!
     
  10. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,939
    Likes Received:
    100
    You're welcome! :)
     
  11. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    Glad you got it fixed. However, you really need to try to get WPA or WPA2 security working because using WEP isn't much better than having no security at all.
     
  12. thuybac

    thuybac Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you very much