psps

Aug 7, 2016
I am a Mechanical engineering student. I want to buy a laptop that will be capable of handling basic CFD simulations, FEA and CAD along with all other casual work. My budget is upto Rs.60000 in India. Can anybody please suggest me some good options to choose from? If possible please also give technical comparisons and heating issues.
I have read that Nvidia GPUs accelerate many of the commercial CFD, CAD and FEA packages. So can you suggest whether I should go only for Nvidia?
I need to buy the laptop asap.

sn8ke

Sep 19, 2004
Lenovo Thinkpads are ubiquitous in engineering. And for very good reason.
I would look to the X series personally. x220, x230, x250, x260. There are also 2-in-1 models which convert to a tablet with wacom digitizer and included pen if you would like that for use with CAD etc. Those models have a T at the end. x220t etc. The newest are x260 line.

Those are the more portable 12.5" ones with better battery life and options. With the 6 cell + sheet battery I can get 15-20 hours of actual usage. If you want a bigger screen and a discrete nVidia graphics card I would suggest the Lenovo T series such as the t440, or t460.

I don't have time to go into technical comparisons but just look up the models. If you have questions there is a VERY active subreddit here and everyone loves to answer questions or discuss Lenovo/IBM computers. I will say that heat is not an issue on the x-series at all. Barely any warmth even under full load. Expect to feel the warmth and hear the fan when using CAD type stuff though. Not loud but noticeable.

TidusZ

Golden Member
Nov 13, 2007