Keep losing DNS Suffix entry in WinXP

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Icepick, May 4, 2007.

  1. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,652
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a DNS suffix configured in Advanced TCP/IP Settings on my laptop at work. Each night I go home and connect back into my employer's network via VPN from my wireless home network. When I reboot my laptop at work the next morning I find my DNS Suffix entries gone. This happens every time I log into my employer's network after using the laptop at home.

    Anyone know why this would happen and how to stop it? Is there a Windows XP bug fix?

    This is Windows XP Service Pack 2.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,652
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, the exact setting I'm referring to is:
    Network Connections --> Local Area Connection 4 --> Properties --> TCP/IP Properties --> Advanced --> DNS --> Append these DNS suffixes (in order):

    Each morning after working from home the night before I have to re-add my DNS suffixes here. They disappear for some reason.

    Another tidbit - I use a wireless connection at home and wired Ethernet at work.
     
  3. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on a domain? Sounds like your employers group policy is overriding this setting.

     
  4. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, at work I'm on a domain. So maybe that's it. BUt, it wouldn't make sense that they would remove their own domain suffix from my configuration.
     
  5. Alone

    Alone Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    They have it set up the way they want it, and would like to keep it that way.
     
  6. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it would, it makes perfect sense (it can be a security issue not to). Are you on a home router, can you just dhcp and get a temp domain suffix that way while home?