Keep losing DNS Suffix entry in WinXP

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Icepick, May 4, 2007.

  1. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a DNS suffix configured in Advanced TCP/IP Settings on my laptop at work. Each night I go home and connect back into my employer's network via VPN from my wireless home network. When I reboot my laptop at work the next morning I find my DNS Suffix entries gone. This happens every time I log into my employer's network after using the laptop at home.

    Anyone know why this would happen and how to stop it? Is there a Windows XP bug fix?

    This is Windows XP Service Pack 2.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - losing Suffix entry Forum Date
    Win7 loses display settings Operating Systems Feb 8, 2016
    Lose wireless network connectivity on Win7 system Operating Systems Oct 21, 2015
    Losing focus while typing - Windows 10 Operating Systems Oct 16, 2015
    WinServer 2012 Essentials loses IP configuration on every boot Operating Systems Jun 13, 2015
    DNS resolving full suffix Operating Systems Jul 27, 2004

  3. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    1
    By the way, the exact setting I'm referring to is:
    Network Connections --> Local Area Connection 4 --> Properties --> TCP/IP Properties --> Advanced --> DNS --> Append these DNS suffixes (in order):

    Each morning after working from home the night before I have to re-add my DNS suffixes here. They disappear for some reason.

    Another tidbit - I use a wireless connection at home and wired Ethernet at work.
     
  4. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on a domain? Sounds like your employers group policy is overriding this setting.

     
  5. Icepick

    Icepick Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, at work I'm on a domain. So maybe that's it. BUt, it wouldn't make sense that they would remove their own domain suffix from my configuration.
     
  6. Alone

    Alone Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    They have it set up the way they want it, and would like to keep it that way.
     
  7. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it would, it makes perfect sense (it can be a security issue not to). Are you on a home router, can you just dhcp and get a temp domain suffix that way while home?