K7T Turbo and JBAT1 jumper "Clear CMOS" question. Typo in User's Manual?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by bupkus, Feb 23, 2001.

  1. bupkus

    bupkus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    On page 22 of chapter 2 "2-22" of the User's Manual is info about the "Clear CMOS Jumper: JBAT1".

    << A battery must be used to retain the mainboard config in CMOS RAM. Short 1-2 pins of JBAT1 to store the CMOS data. >>

    A graphic follows that shows the mainboard taller than wide with the cpu socket up top. Another graphic shows the pins stacked with the top pin numbered as 3 and the bottom pin numbered as 1.

    Then a warning box states:

    << You can clear CMOS by shorting 2-3 pin, while the system is off. Then, return to 1-2 pin position. Avoid clearing the CMOS while the system is on, it will damage the mainboard. Always unplug the power cord from the wall socket. >>



    This must be a typo, because my Turbo comes with the top two jumpers connected. That, according to the manual, would be jumpers 2-3, which in the manual is the &quot;Clear Data&quot; state.
    If I unplug the power and enter the &quot;Keep Data&quot; (pins 1-2) state and plug in and try to power up, absolutely nothing happens.

    This is the first pc I'm attempting to build from scratch and I'm wondering if this motherboard is a mistake.

    Note: The manual may be online.
     
  2. rexfalk

    rexfalk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran into the same thing, evidently the manual is in error because when you put the jumper on the pins it says to store the CMOS the board won't do a thing when you turn it on.

    Rex
     
  3. bupkus

    bupkus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK then, what the heck is this supposed to do? If I mess up and can't get into the bios, does this return it to some default state?
     
  4. coomarlin

    coomarlin Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if you read the thread I posted the other day or not. I fried my turbo-r by messing with that jumper. My board came with the 1-2 jumpers connected (which means save cmos), but when I pulled the jumper to reset my bios I heard a pop and the board took a crap on me. I tried connecting jumpers 2-3 but no go. The moral of the story is to make sure you unplug the power supply before you pull that jumper. Which is actually kind of weird because I've cleared cmos jumpers in the past without unplugging the PS, but this time it jumped up and bit me.

    I don't know why your would come with 2-3 jumpered. Maybe someone tampered with it before it was sent to you.
     
  5. bupkus

    bupkus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    coomarlin,
    If you read rexfalk's reply you would see that the manual is in error. If you mean that the shunt came in the upper position, then so did mine. We both unplugged the power before trying the lower position, but our pc's wouldn't boot afterwards. Fortunately, neither one of us did this with the power plug in. If I now return the shunt to the upper position it will power up, but not right since I closed my L1s.
    Well, today is a new day. Time to start over.
     
  6. billyjak

    billyjak Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reset the Bios with the power off on everything, move the jumper to next set of pins for 10 seconds and put it back on the way it was.
    This will reset CMOS to default, you'll have to select your clock speed and timmings all over in CMOS and anything else you want.
    I do it often when I get a new motherboard because of experimenting with oc/voltages and stuff.
    When it won't boot I just jumper the pins and presto.
     
  7. coomarlin

    coomarlin Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my replacement board after frying my old one and you are correct about the jumper mispint. 2-3 mean keep data and 1-2 mean reset data. Imagine all of the (non-anandtech readers) this will screw up.
     
Loading...