Just paid $47.20 in library fees....

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

PottedMeat

Lifer
Apr 17, 2002
All the books I've ever borrowed or used in college and sold back have been in the bathroom. :evil:

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
Originally posted by: Paladin3
I'm a former librarian and can see both sides of the issue.

First, library patrons really need to take responsibility for the books they borrow and be prepared to pay the fee for late/lost/damaged materials. Where else can you borrow hundreds of dollars worth of books, videos, DVDs, software and other materials with a little more than a promise to return them? Want to avoid late fees? Return the materials on time like you said you would. Which reminds me I have an overdue book in the back of my car.

I can't count the number of times patrons returned materials late or just completely destroyed them and then where outraged that we expected them to pay a fee. At my last library we loaned books for 4 weeks, and they could be renewed for another 4, but people still bitched that we were ripping them off by charging 10 cents/day late fees when they kept books beyond the two month max.

My favorite incident was over $200 worth of books that came back soaked in cat pee, and the patron claimed we must have done it because we didn?t like her. I only WISH I could have come up with something like that because, after all, I did hate that particular patron.

Children?s books returned reeking of cigarette smoke, titles covered in various biological substances, food between the pages of paperbacks, a sheet of toilet paper used as a bookmark and left behind, obscene notes for me or the next reader penned in the margins?ah, good times, good times. Boy I miss that job, all the giggles and the mandatory Purell baths after working the front desk.