JKII: Jedi Outcast. How do I disable the auto-aim feature, without entirely disabling the crosshairs in 3rd person?

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by Jeff7, Feb 27, 2004.

  1. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    The crosshair by default automatically centers on any target it finds. I find no options in the Controls menu to change this; is there a console setting (is there a console?) or command line arguement that I can use to disable this? It makes it very difficult to aim precisely, or shoot a shot past a close corner, as the crosshair snaps to the nearby wall, or else it locks onto the target when you're trying to lead it.

    Edit #1"
    Got it:
    cg_dynamicCrosshair 0


    Edit#2: Hmm, well this is a partial solution apparently. In first person, I get the crosshairs, perfectly still as I want them, though they themselves are a bit off center relative to where the weapon actually shoots. Anyway, in first person, the crosshair is there. When I switch to third person, it's gone completely. Anyone know of a way to have it enabled in both views, but not have that auto-aiming function?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - JKII Jedi Outcast Forum Date
    problems cheating with Jedi Academy single player... Software for Windows Apr 24, 2006
    Which PC star wars game has better multiplayer: jedi outcast or jedi academy? Software for Windows May 31, 2005
    How do I run a timedemo in Star Wars - Jedi Knight 2 without sound? Software for Windows Jan 31, 2005
    JKII: Outcast..Awesome game Software for Windows Aug 4, 2002
    How many more levels do I have left in JKII Software for Windows Apr 3, 2002

  3. BFG10K

    BFG10K Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    20,971
    Likes Received:
    20
    Try sv_aim but I'm just guessing here. I don't think you can disable it.
     
  4. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Only just remembered that I'd posted this thread. :eek:

    Where do I try this? I'd assume the console, but I don't know how to get to it. Pressing ` doesn't do it.
     
  5. Glitchny

    Glitchny Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    that game has autoaim?... never noticed
     
  6. Gagabiji

    Gagabiji Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    hold shift and press ` to get console. I don't know how to turn it off, but if I am feeling nice later on I could mess with it for you. ;) EDIT: I never had problems like that, where it auto locks on poor TK-421...
     
  7. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Really? Set the gun to any blaster, and slowly aim toward a stationary enemy. When it gets kind of close, the crosshairs will jump right to the enemy. This is perfectly ok if the target is standing perfectly still, but it makes it nearly impossible to lead a moving target, as the auto-aiming will put the crosshairs dead center, when you want it to be a little bit ahead. I just want to see what my accuracy goes to if I can disable the auto aim. Right now, it averages around 20%. My other upgrades in accuracy came from moving to a Logitech Dual Optical, and then another boost from the C4 mousepad I got. But that's in Quake III Arena, which doesn't autoaim.

    Ok, I just got another analogy for this autoaim for those who haven't noticed it - Winamp's window snap-to function. Try to position the window REALLY close to the edge of the screen, but not quite. You can't do it - the snap feature sticks Winamp right to the edge.
     
  8. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    The use of the word "console" here provided inspiration; I tried different search terms in Google. Disable Jedi Outcast Crosshair and strings to that effect showed nothing. However, Jedi Outcast console commands was useful - second match gave the command cg_dynamicCrosshair. The crosshair stays put now, as I want it. :)
    Thanks for the inspiration there, by using the keyword "console." :D

    And a bonus, SaberColor 1,2,3,4,5, etc can let you change the color of the lightsaber.
     
  9. BlueWeasel

    BlueWeasel Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2000
    Messages:
    15,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just picked up JK2: Jedi Outcast yesterday. I've disabled the dynamic X-hair, but I'd still like to be on the screen when using the 3rd person view.

    Did you ever figure out how to get it to stay, Jeff?
     
  10. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Nope; I posted at the Lucasarts forum for this game, but it's probably got a grand total of about 5 users, and they don't seem to visit it very often.
    Be nice to get this working - using level 1 force powers is almost impossible without the crosshairs, as they need to be aimed precisely, as does Force Grip on any level.
    I hope this isn't something that needs to be changed with a patch - I don't know if Lucasarts is going to be putting any more time into developing this product. It sure would be nice though to have a way of getting a steady crosshair in any view.
     
  11. Cat

    Cat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just bind an alias that enables the cross-hair while also enabling third-person mode. Then bind an alias that does the reverse.

    Edit:
    Also map your lightsaber key to an alias that enables the CH and lightsaber.
     
  12. Jeff7

    Jeff7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    41,589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sure thing.
    Huh??

    Ok, how do I do this? I know how to bind a key to a single command. How do I do it for multiple commands?



    Also, this won't do precisely what I want. This will enable the dynamic crosshair again. Definitely better than none at all, granted, but it'd still be great to have a stationary crosshair in all view modes. But I will accept help on the multiple bind thing. :)
     
  13. Cat

    Cat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    bind key "command; command 2; command 3; command 4; etc;"
    Separate commands with ;.