java vs c++

Mucman

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
My university is going to start teaching its computer science program in Java instead of C++. Is Java that powerful of a program or is C++ just that much hyped? I always though you have to learn C++ or else you won't get a job in the programmin business. Just wanted to hear what you professionals feel about this.

thanks

LAUST

Diamond Member
Sep 13, 2000
That is kind of strange to me I'm a sys admin and not a programmer but I always thought JAVA was based on C++ also, And I know C++ is still more heavily used. I'm not too big of a fan of allot of JAVA apps myself as I manage X86 boxes and not Sun systems which JAVA seems to really scream on .. my X86's on the otherhand well *Cough*

Phalkon

Banned
Aug 20, 2000
Java is a derivate language based on C++.... Java being 100% portable (Microshaft would disagree ;) ) it offers platform-independent compilation and whatnot.
If you learn Java, its only a small hop skip and jump over to C++. You'll notice that the ideas and code is nearly exact. Java will get you a job just as easy as C++ will... if you have Java, C++, VB and some Database skillz, you're set to make lots of cash.

What Java isn't good at is things like direct hardware access, etc... things that make programs go really fast. Also, it can be a tad sluggish at times if it is being interpreted directly from code.

If you want to go into stuff like game programming, or high-speed multimedia applications, I think C++ is the way to go, but if you want to do stuff on any platform and have it work the same (thereby increasing your marketable self potential) I'd say go with Java, as your skills there are portable to C++ as well.

Mucman

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
The prof was mentioning C++ being a tad faster, but he said since computers are getting so much faster, the speed difference between Java and C++ is becoming negligible. He also stated that you will need a reading knowledge of C++ to get through the course.