Issue with booting

katazuki

Jan 20, 2012
Okay so guys,

This is my first build and I am having issues with what I presume is a motherboard issue and none of my friends can seem to call anything up, nor does google.

First off specs,

RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport - Memory - 12 GB : 3 x 4 GB - DIMM 240-pin - DDR3 - 1600 MHz / PC3-12800 - CL10 - 1.5 V - unbuffered - non-ECC

Motherboard: GA-Z68AP-D3

GFX Card: Asus 1GB GeForce GTX 560TI DirectCUII PCI-E

CPU: Intel Sandybridge i5-2500 Core i5 Quad-Core Processor (3.30GHz, 6MB Cache, Socket 1155)

Power: OCZ-ZS650W-UK OCZ ZS Series 650W Power Supply 80+ Plus Bronze

HDD: Samsung Spinpoint HD753LJ 750 GB F1 DT Desktop Class Hard Drive

Okay so basically, my issue is -

I start up the PC and it runs for roughly 20 seconds, the monitor doesn't get any signal from the PC and then it turns off after roughly 20 seconds.

Things I have tried so far:

[*]Swapping around RAM sticks.
[*]Unplugging everything apart from CPU, power & Motherboard
[*]Taking GFX card out and letting it run off CPU's

All of the cables are plugged in correctly as far as I can see.
I tried using the speaker and it bleeps a long(ish) beep over and over, link to sound recording: http://www.mediafire.com/?mjz35tqukuxqmqx

I am compeltely stumped as too what I should do, I hope someone can help me out.

Last edited:

Puppies04

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2011
Ok a couple of easy things but we need to start somewhere, is the CPU cooler fitted properly and is the fan plugged in, also can you check the mobo instructions they should list the fault beep codes which should let you narrow the problem down.

Puppies04

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2011
Ok I got bored and checked the manual online it says continuous long beeps are incorrectly installed GPU, did it make the same sound once the GPU was removed?

Edit. If it is acually continuous short beeps then it is a power error, are the 24 pin (20 +4) and 4 pin power connectors correctly installed?

Last edited:

katazuki