is TV card worth anything?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by Shephard, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Winfast TV 2000 XP Expert. I bought it for my Dad so he could watch TV on his computer. He doesn't have the computer anymore so I have been keeping the card in a box.
     
  2. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    200 view and no reply??? do home theater PC not use these anymore? or maybe there is something newer and mine is to old for use.
     
  3. TastesLikeChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,349
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would imagine that card only handles NTSC analog signals, doesn't do ClearQAM, and doesn't do ATSC. If true, in today's broadcast world it is virtually useless. That's not to mention that Win7 drivers, afaik, are not available for that card.

    If you can find a WinXP user who has analog cable it might be worth something to them.
     
  4. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    on top of the card there is some writing. 3 check boxes.

    NTSC-J, EIA-J - not checked
    NTSC-M, PAL M, PAL N, MTS - checked.
    PAL B/G, PAL I, PAL D/K, SECAM L/L, Secam D/K,, SECAM B/G, A2, NICAM - not checked.

    I don't know what these mean.

    All I remember is you plug the coaxial cable on the card and you could watch TV on your computer with the Winfast software.
     
  5. TastesLikeChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those are television broadcast formats and it confirms my suspicions. That card is virtually useless today since most cable systems are now digital only.
     
  6. Jammor

    Jammor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    NTSC M is analog TV with a frame rate of 29.97, 480i resolution used in north america. It will work, as mentioned, with analog TV service and the correct drivers for the OS.

    Analog (NTSC) TV service is fading away. Some cableco's no longer offer it or offer only a few channels. My cableco does still offer it and its what I pay for but I expect it to be gone at some point.
     
  7. Jammor

    Jammor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    you'll also need software like winfast with an electronic program guide to tune TV and identify & schedule recordings. It will encode in JPEG2 which you can play back on any number of media players like windows media player, VLC, or software like winfast.
     
  8. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do the other 2 mean? NTSC-J and PAL B/G etc? Are they outdated too?

    I know my internet provider changed from analog to cable TV. I don't know the difference though.
     
  9. Jammor

    Jammor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    NTSC J is a variant used in Japan and PAL is a different broadcast system used in other parts of the world. It has a different frame rate than NTSC.

    Your internet provider is probably your TV programming provider too? And has probably changed from analog to digital or ATSC programming.
     
  10. Jammor

    Jammor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I meant MPEG2
     
  11. Plugers

    Plugers Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe if there is a FM radio plug-in. For tuning TV not really, unless you want to use it to get the analog output from a cable box and use an IR blaster to change channels.
     
  12. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes my internet provider does phone and cable. I only have internet though. I remember reading they changed from analog to digital cable but I don't know the difference.

    and yes it has an FM connection.
     
  13. Raincity

    Raincity Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Messages:
    4,364
    Likes Received:
    1
    Install it and check and see what channels come in through the cable connection. Win 7 should install the drivers and you can use media center to view the channels. Dscaler also will work in Win 7.
     
  14. piasabird

    piasabird Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    16,571
    Likes Received:
    1
    Almost everyone wants everything in HD now, so dont expect much. Some cable stuff is digital but not HD. Some old Cable boxes may not be HD. A lot of Cable companies use cable boxes that require an access card to get the channels.
     
    #14 piasabird, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012