Is this SSD benchmark any good ?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Mfusick, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... so I tried it but I don't know how to read it that well.

    is this good or bad ??

    (I was downloading and doing some stuff on second display when I ran it only once it was my first run)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]


    I ran this one next.

    It appears to suck.

    Something is funny with this new install I have and I can't figure out what it is.

    My old SSD (120GB MAX IOPS) Felt way faster than this VERTEX3 Array. (120GB x2)

    I did this once before it felt wayyyyy faster.

    Wondering if I messed something up or a driver is wrong ???

    Advice?
     
  3. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should I have built my RAID 0 array inside windows with the Intel Storage utitlity and kept the BIOS set on ACHI ???

    I changed my BIOS on my ASUS Z68 DELUXE from ACHI to RAID and built the RAID 0 array on the bios level before loading windows.
     
  4. wpcoe

    wpcoe Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which OCZ drives do you have in RAID0? The original Vertex, or Vertex 2, Vertex 3, or Vertex 4?

    (And doesn't your neon colored desktop give you a headache? :eek:)
     
  5. ryderOCZ

    ryderOCZ Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Write caching is disabled by default with the Intel RST driver.
    Open the IAstor utility and enable write caching on the array. You need to disable the Windows caching first under disk drives in Device manager (check the 2nd box under policies) then open the IAstor utility. That will improve the 4K's. Overall your benchmarks look fine, save the 4K in AS-SSD.
     
  6. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    It feels slower than my Vertex3 MAX IOPS.

    Thanks for the help.

    So if I do that you think I am fine?

    This is two VERTEX3's in RAID0 on a Asus Z68 board on the intel SATA 3 ports.

    I changed bios mode from ACHI to RAID. As that is what you do on this board to build a RAID0 array.

    Any help and advice is appreciated. I think it could be faster.
     
  7. ryderOCZ

    ryderOCZ Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Feels slower, while doing what?

    Yes, you have to be in RAID mode, of course.

    Here is what you have to do, then find the IAstor utility over by your clock in the tray. Open the utility and make sure write back caching is enabled.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok ill try that.

    What exactly does that do ?
     
  9. groberts101

    groberts101 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    just leverages the system ram to greater extent.
     
  10. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. I have 16GB RAM. Im not overclocked or anything right now. 2600k CPU is on "auto" and default everything. I don't even have the software overclock stuff installed. It's a clean install of W7 x64.

    Programs for sure load slower than my 120GB MAX OPS.

    Something is amiss
     
  11. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much of a gain is this supposed to yield? I run a single SSD in AHCI and I ran a CDM with it on vs a CDM with it off and there was no difference at all outside the normal tolerance of benchmarks on the same setup. :confused:
     
  12. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    You guys don't think this is slower than a 120GB X2 in RAID0 should be ????


    This is a two fresh drives too.
     
  13. groberts101

    groberts101 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that you're misunderstanding how SF compression works. The benchmark you're using there uses random/incompressible data and those numbers are about right for 2 x 120GB drives. Also keep in mind that he MI version uses faster nand and has better writes than the regular version.

    as for the use of write caching. If you do what Ryder already mentioned above?.. things will definately improve. But.. the use of that setting will only cause pronounced advantage with raids though.

    @Coup. Some single drives that have internal ram will also leverage that ram to greater extent.. though it will never be as notceable as a raid will give. Others will show no perceivable difference one way or the other. Is completely reversible and best to test before and after to get an idea as to whether it's worth monkeying around with.

    And not to disagree with Ryder for the method used to activate it.. but the simplest way I've found to activate it for raids is to uncheck the FIRST box>click ok>RECHECK it once more>click ok and then retest. The Windows glitch is that the first checkbox is always checked by defaulkt.. but is a false positive and needs to be unchecked/rechecked with an "ok" in between to actually activate it. It is off by default on al Intel raids and you need to either use that method.. or the IRST mgmt ustilities "enable write-back caching" for it to be activated.
     
    #13 groberts101, Dec 13, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012
  14. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    explain that again... I am confused... lol.
     
  15. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your saying I just have to manually uncheck before I check ?
     
  16. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did exactly as Ryder suggested but I am wondering if I should do more ?
     
  17. ryderOCZ

    ryderOCZ Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mfusick,

    Did you enable write caching in the IAstor utility?

    Did the benchmark for 4k's go up? That is all that will really change. What kinds of numbers are you expecting from AS-SSD with 2 in RAID0? and what part of the benchmark do you think is slow?
     
  18. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean what you posted above? Or something else ?
     
  19. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. ryderOCZ

    ryderOCZ Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, there you go... now what does your benchmark look like?
     
  21. postmortemIA

    postmortemIA Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    4Ks match my 3yrs old single intel G2 drive. access time is awful.
     
  22. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I first thought.
     
  23. rgallant

    rgallant Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    -128 kb stripe size ? -my old 120 g2 R0 intel suggested 16 kb

    "2600k CPU is on "auto" and default everything"

    -does your 2600k idle @ x16?
    if so there's a good chance you ran as ssd @ x16 ,not x34 if you did not run something in the back ground to kick up the clock's in as ssd
    -and that could knock down the 4k's.
    -open up cpu-z and run as ssd again.
    -if it runs at x16 during the bench turn off the down clocking .
     
  24. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks.


    I'll post back later
     
  25. Blain

    Blain Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    23,639
    Likes Received:
    2
    Keep us up to date
     
Loading...