Is there and adapter that will turn a phoneline into and ethernet port?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ninjo, Jan 29, 2005.

  1. Ninjo

    Ninjo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so my moms friend just got a laptop and she wanted to get cable so she could get wireless. Well we got her a router and it has ethernet ports on it. Right now she has Qwest DSL which uses a regular phone line. Now she did not want to drill a hole in the wall for the cable because he husband would have a fit. So is there a phoneline to ethernet converter?

    Thank yous!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - adapter turn phoneline Forum Date
    What is the name of this adapter? General Hardware Jan 6, 2017
    Do a hdmi to Dvi adapter work for shimian qh270? General Hardware Dec 1, 2016
    Cheap chinese laptop adapters - Safe? General Hardware Aug 17, 2016
    Need a PCIe 1x to mPCIE adapter General Hardware Jun 7, 2016
    Need help installing 3Com 802.11b PCMCIA adapter - Solved. Turns out WinXP's default driver was freezing the system. General Hardware May 3, 2003

  3. imported_FishTaco

    imported_FishTaco Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes there is a phoneline to ethernet converter, the specification is called homepna. But why would you need to run a cable if she wants wireless?

    Your question isn't very clear at all, she wants to get cable so she can get wireless but she has DSL now? :confused:
     
  4. Gunbuster

    Gunbuster Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,770
    Likes Received:
    2
    I doubt DSL and Phone line networking would be a good combo. Go wireless
     
  5. Ninjo

    Ninjo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the reason is she really wants WIRELESS, and I only know of hooking up wireless with ethernet cables. Is there a router that can do this?
     
  6. wisdomtooth

    wisdomtooth Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    to the OP:

    What you need to do is make sure you have a WIRELESS router. Just a plain router with no wireless function will NOT do.

    Then, you put that wireless router next to the DSL modem, and plug in the short Cat5 Ethernet cable from the DSL modem into your router.

    Configure the router to talk to the DSL modem by following the instructions in the manual or your DSL provider's user's guide, and your mom should be able to surf wirelessly with her laptop after that.


     
  7. Tarrant64

    Tarrant64 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    0

    That just doesn't make sense.:confused:
     
  8. Ninjo

    Ninjo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, I am sorry... Her DSL that she uses now <B>DOES NOT</B> use cat5 cables. It uses phoneline cables or the ones with the smaller heads on them.

    What I was asking was... Is there a wireless router that does not have ethernet ports on it but phoneline ports on it?
     
  9. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    67
    Right. What you want is a wireless DSL router.
     
  10. stevty2889

    stevty2889 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is the exact model of the DSL modem, what you are telling us right now, doesn't make any sense..
     
  11. Gunbuster

    Gunbuster Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Phone line --> DSL Modem ---> Ethernet ---> Wireless Cable/DSL router ---> Air ---> Laptop with wireless card
     
  12. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    67
    Gunbuster has it right - your DSL modem is where you start. You really want an external one. The phone line connects to it. Then you get a Wireless router and connect it to the modem with a short CAT5 cable. Then you must get wireless NICs for each computer and they will communicate with the router which is tied to the modem.
     
  13. wisdomtooth

    wisdomtooth Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0

    Give us the brand and model number of your DSL modem. Otherwise, we cannot help you.
     
  14. KayKay

    KayKay Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    the wireless router should be plugged into your dsl modem, and that will fix everything. try to find the modem first, then you can plug an ethernet cable between the modem and the router
     
  15. imverygifted

    imverygifted Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe if your modem uses the phoneline you can jus plug it in wherever you want the outlet to be so just move the modem