Is there a way to pass the video card directly to a VM?

Discussion in '*nix Software' started by Red Squirrel, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,520
    Likes Received:
    517
    I use Linux as my main OS but there are some apps that only work in Windows that I use occasionally such as AutoCAD, Google Sketchup and some basic games. For more intensive games I dual boot.

    Most of the basic apps like Google Sketchup will not start in a VM as I usually get an error related to video, depends on the app. Is there not a way to pass a video card directly so I can install the real drivers? I think most apps don't like the Virtualbox drivers so it just conks out. Would be nice if I can use some of these apps in a VM rather than dual boot all the time.

    Any way to do this? Or is there another virtualization solution that works better? I imagine complex apps like Autocad wont work in Wine so probably not worth trying.
     
  2. theevilsharpie

    theevilsharpie Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    KVM and Xen support VGA passthrough, but not in a way that would useful in a desktop use case.

    I believe VMware Player has decent 3D acceleration, although I've never tried it with a Linux host. Couldn't hurt to try.
     
  3. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    VMware Workstation has decent 3D acceleration, I use it daily for a Win7 VM but I have no idea if something like AutoCAD would be too much for it.

    Also be aware that if you use something like KVM or Xen pass through, your host OS loses access to that device so you'll need to buy another card if you want both active at once.

    Did you even give WINE a real look? http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=86
     
  4. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,520
    Likes Received:
    517
    I'll give VMware workstation a try, I forgot they also had a Linux version. Good to know about KVM and Xen having that option too. Willing to sacrifice a video card slot for that if I do find myself needing it more.

    Audocad was a bad example given I had not tried it, just assumed if sketchup did not work, that would not work either, but I just tried it for fun and it actually DOES work, so that's good. I can always give up Sketchup and just stick to AutoCAD. I don't really use CAD that often but it is useful when planing a home project or something.
     
  5. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0