Is my Video Card dying?

Oct 30, 2004
Card: eVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 560

I've been using this card for several years and haven't had any problems with it. Yesterday I started to see a few screen glitches / slow performance, so I rebooted. Then I updated the driver which hadn't been updated for a while.

Now it seems like it's rending graphics slowly all of the sudden and its very noticeable in Planetside 2, which is now completely unplayable. Could the driver update have caused this (I'm pretty sure I have the right driver) or is it possible that some pipes / RAM on the card have died?

I guess if I had to replace it, this one seems like a decent option:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814137058

Last edited:

ZGR

Platinum Member
Oct 26, 2012
How many years has it been since you dusted it?

Check out eVGA Precision Monitor app and monitor the core/shader and memory clockspeeds while the game is in a window.

See what kind of temperatures you are hitting and clockspeeds. You should also be able to control the fan speed. But first I'd open the case up, unseat the GPU, dust it, seat it back, and see it how it goes.

Oct 30, 2004
Here's what I posted on a Reddit forum:

Is my video card dying / damaged?
  • Computer Type: Desktop, custom build
  • GPU: Geforce GTX 560, 2 GB RAM, eVGA brand (all I really know about it as I didn't build the rig, no overclock as far as I know)
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k, overclocked to 4.2 Ghz/core
  • RAM: 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM running at 1600 Mhz.
  • Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
  • PSU: 550W Antec Basiq
  • Operating System: Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit
  • GPU Drivers: Recently updated to NVidia 382.53