Question Is my disk corrupted?

parmesuhn

Aug 17, 2020
I'm not a pro at this kind of things, i don't know if this is the right thread. But every time i download games that exceed around 150GB (not sure) my drive just got an error and i need to reset it every time (i have 800gb space on my drive). It's a pain in the ass tbh. Is there anything wrong with my computer or is my ssd is corrupted?

I did a disk check on windows it says it's fine. But it just don't seem fine. Please can someone give me advice to do something or something.

Update: I've been exploring on the error that i got for a week. i think i got a clue one what specifically that make this an error.
------
Chkdsk was executed in scan mode on a volume snapshot.

Checking file system on D:
The shadow copy provider had an error. Check the System and Application event logs for more information.

A snapshot error occured while scanning this drive. You can try again, but if this problem persists, run an offline scan and fix.
------
What does this mean? if anyone can make an assumption on whats happening to my computer please tell me.

Last edited:

damian101

Aug 11, 2020
I would scan the drive for dead sectors, I can recommend DiskGenius for that.
Also, I don't think disks can get "corrupted", but data of all kinds can get corrupted, including the file system itself.

razel

Platinum Member
May 14, 2002
Run CrystalDiskInfo and see the SMART status of that D drive. If it's good, drop into cmd with Administrator and type chkdsk d: /x/v.. /v is verbose /x is fix. If it doesn't begin to scan it'll tell you it'll run it next time on restart.

The error you're seeing is related to 'shadow copies' which is usually system restore. You could ensure it's off, but I would do the typical SMART status 1st then chkdsk.

parmesuhn

Aug 17, 2020