Is Java really that good??

lupin

Platinum Member
Oct 11, 1999
I'm not an IT professional, so I'm asking for your opinion here.

What do you think of Java?

Mday

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
it's another programming language. granted it is more versatile in terms of platforms, but it's another programming language.

GL

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
It's easy because it's straightforward and in terms of readability on the part of someone reading another's code, it's very understandable. Performance-wise, if you have a JIT compiler, it's not too much slower than C in many tasks. Portability across platforms is nice but it certainly isn't the biggest thing Java has going for it, although that's one of the things people generally associate with Java. I honestly think Java is here to stay and will be more prevalent in years to come as people figure out that with a 1GHz+ CPU, Java is a good performer for other tasks including games. If you wanna see Java stretched to its limits, check out:
http://www.wildtangent.com

-GL

Prodigy^

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
I'd choose C++ over Java any day....Java isn't really very useful for anything else than small, embedded applications for websites I think

Dat

Jan 14, 2000
Java's overrated.

That write once - run anywhere deal that everyone was claiming before is not working out at all.

all languages have their purpose, Java's great for some web apps.
VB's awesome for short application development time, I'll written several database access programs, compiled them, and packaged them onto CDS ready for installation within hours.

C++ is still my favorite though.

catseye

Jan 15, 2000
That write once - run anywhere deal that everyone was claiming before is not working out at all.

I think Java could have lived up to this hype if (a) Microsoft didn't try to create Microsoft Java(c)(R)(TM), all rights reserved, and (b) Sun wasn't so hell bent on maintaining control over all things Java.

Its still the funnest language I've ever programmed.