Is it worth upgrading my PC, or should I get into consoles?

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Necc

Feb 15, 2011
Thanks. I have no experience with OC. I just went into BIOS, and there was no option to change "FSB" to "400". The "FSB Speed" was listed as "1333mhz". There was an option for AI Overclock, which gave gave 5-30% OC options, but it said something about adjusting all values automaticaly. Not sure how to adjust FSB to 400 only.

Iguess your MB is G31 chipset, you have to ask the guys at the cpu section, i'm sure they can help you overclock your CPU, I never owned a G31 MB so ican't help you with that :(

either way try without overclocking for now and see where your bottlenecks are :)

TheNiceGuy

Golden Member
Dec 23, 2004
Thanks all. I have a road I can take with the PC and game now. I'll order more matching RAM (4gb system total). And I'll try to OC the CPU.
I researched for several hours, but coupled get much info on my MB/CPU combo other than a few failed stories claiming the BIOS is poorly labeled and confusing.
I tried two I hope safe BIOS combos, but the game would crash to desktop after a couple of minutes (not the PC). One combo was to use the "AI Overclocking" feature (at 20%), which did boost CPU to 3.61ghz, but it says something to the effect of 'boosting all relevant values automaticaly'. So I don't know what or if its boosting. The other combo was to set the "CPU Frequency" manualy from 333 to 400. Same game crashing results.
I could go into all the "AUTO" sections and try to change ALL the values manualy, but not sure what they are supposed to be at.
Any ideas? Here's 2 screen shots (literaly).
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/excipio/IMG_1947.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b334/excipio/IMG_1946.jpg
IMG_1946.jpg

IMG_1947.jpg

Thanks

Last edited:

Arsinek

Feb 9, 2010