is it worth building new pc?

lordluvaduck

Jun 20, 2013
im new to both forums, and building rigs, so please be patient and give a man a chance to learn....:'(

so ive been wanting to set up an htpc combined with a simple nas setup(torrents) for around the house use, so i can listen to music or watch movies on any device on the network, but id like the nas to also be the central media unit in the house to replace tv recievers,and possibly my 630watt stereo unit(if pc can handle same audio output) with tv,movies,netflix,etc.it must be power efficient, with sleeping when not used, and waking up when wanting to watch tv.(im not sure if i could use it as a nas if its in sleep mode, but a way to use it as just storage access without heavy power would be nice.) basically the central brain of a home.

main unit - easy to switch between programs(no mouse) and have good file structure(maybe torrents sort out themselves,haha)
|
stereo -5.1 surround with 500watt sub
tv/pvr -has own hard drive for dvr/pvr(records)
media - has movies,music,pictures
network storage -can access files(within a givin directory,movies,media,dvr.no other system folders)
gaming -current games and at a good performance

i currently have my gaming pc which has an i5-2500k clocking 4.2ghz,asrock extreme 3 z77, 2X4gb corsair vengeance 1866,650watt toppower psu,h40 cooling, and radeon hd 7770(thinking of upgrading to asus 7870). my new build (for htpc) would be based off amd a8-6500 3.9ghz and have 1866 ram, no gpu unless i switch out my 7770 and see if i can crossfire it with the apu.

long story short, will this new build be more power efficient than my current build and support an htpc/basic gaming or should i just convert what i have now with minor upgrades?
how would i go about combining a stereo into it and sell off my 630watt reciever?i dont want to get new speakers as ive got 2 vs-80 cerwin vegas and 2 at-10 cerwin vegas. can u use my 300-500watt subwoofer? new power supply for pc?