Is a MBA worth the time and money?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

LegendKiller

Lifer
Mar 5, 2001
Originally posted by: koloastreet
your one of those hidden jewels. its like some of the software engineers who i work with who went to some small unknown college in the boonies, yet end up out smarting all the senior level folks.

Originally posted by: LegendKiller
Originally posted by: koloastreet
from all the managers ive spoken to in the defense industry, MBA matter only if its in finance and from one of the top 10 schools.

I don't have one from a top 10 school (Not even top 30), I have 4 years of experience, and I work in treasury at a fortune 100 company right next to Duke MBAs. Although mine was in finance. MBAs get you noticed, your brains get you fed.

Well, I happen to know a lot of "hidden jewels".

My boss at my old job worked as an English teacher in Japan for 5 years. Came back here, worked as a tour guide at the theme parks in Orlando for Japanese people. Went and got his MBA at Rollins College, started work at a fortune 500 company as a Sr. Analyst, within 3 years he was a Director and then switched companies to become a VP two years after.

If you can prove yourself you can make a decent living off of any MBA from an AACSB accredited school, it helps to at least see the school in the Businessweek rankings also, even if it isn't top 20.

MBAs are worth it to people who like to learn and will likely grow as a result. If you don't get one from a top10 school you won't be working in an INvestment Bank, nor will you be CEO of a large company, but you will probably get a decent slot as an middle-upper manager before you retire making decent bucks.

thepd7

Diamond Member
Jan 2, 2005