Is a Business Minor worth the time?

Wheatmaster

Diamond Member
Aug 10, 2002
General Business management can be pretty much applied in any industry. My university offers a business minor and I think I can complete it along with my BSAE and still graduate on time (4 years). The question is, will it be worth it? I want to diversify my knowledge and not just end up another "engineer" in the architectural engineering/construction field. But will taking courses like Principles of Accounting, Marketing, etc really help me professional and personally (i.e. managing my own assets/liabilities)? Thanks

Deeko

Lifer
Jun 16, 2000
Even if the degree is useless, the information isn't bad to know. I graduated with a BS in Comp Sci and a minor in business administration, some of the classes were useless (organizational behavior for instance), whereas business law, accounting, and econ were fairly interesting information. Might as well take those classes instead of general electives, ya know?

Queasy

Moderator<br>Console Gaming
Aug 24, 2001
Yes, it will help you as long as you perform well in those classes. It will help you get a job and it will help you to be more than just an engineer.

magomago

Lifer
Sep 28, 2002
sure go for it xD I ended up starting that, but then dropped it in favor of another degree and another minor.

If anything, you get some "business logic" - something that often isn't taught in an engineering class --> but since engineering analysis is so much more difficult, business logic is easy as pie :D

All my Eng/ Comp Sci friends who are doing the Management/Business Minor here finds the classes ridiculously easy, and, on that rare occasion, interesting ;) Its a great GPA booster no matter how you cut it out :)

edit: