Is 4K gaming "peak gaming"?

StinkyPinky

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2002
Volta will be 10nm and seems to be probably 20% faster than pascal. So assuming they can shrink down to 5nm with current tech (debatable?) then I would suggest even that wouldn't be able to power 8K gaming with a single GPU (which is what 95% of gamers use).

Would some sort of 4K/8K checkerboard tech work?

Atom_101

Apr 14, 2017
GPUs will probably use 3D die to increase their computing power once die shrink is not possible anymore. You know, just like SSDs have gone to using 3D NAND instead of planar NAND.

This is just a speculation. I am no expert.

lehtv

Elite Member
Dec 8, 2010
4K @ 60Hz is doable with a GTX Titan X Pascal. 8K is four times as many pixels to render, and since a doubling in pixel count requires about 70% more GPU performance to maintain the same fps, you need a card almost 3 times as fast to run 8K @ 60 Hz smoothly. On 4K, Titan X Pascal is almost 3 times as fast as the original Titan (techpowerup, see GTX 970~Titan vs GTX 1080 Ti~Titan XP). These cards are two generations and 3½ years apart, so assuming similar increases in performance for the next two generations, single GPU 8K @ 60 Hz gaming will be possible in about 3 years with the release of the high end card in whatever generation comes after Volta.

Of course, the assumption that we will continue to get +70% per generation in high resolution performance may be wrong. Perhaps due to diminishing returns it will take three generations until a card that runs 8K @ 60Hz, perhaps four. It's just a matter of time.

Would some sort of 4K/8K checkerboard tech work?

No idea what that would even entail or why you would want to do that instead of just running 8K at lower graphics settings or 4K at higher graphics settings.

GPUs will probably use 3D die to increase their computing power once die shrink is not possible anymore. You know, just like SSDs have gone to using 3D NAND instead of planar NAND.