Question Internet Explorer: anyone here still using it?

SAAA

May 14, 2014
So I've been surfing for the last 20 years on this browser and still don't see to many reasons to switch over.

Ads? I blocked most of them. Manually but it worked, some still show but it's acceptable level. Like some video ads do happen but I tend to ignore sites that display them anyway, I can still add and block those too for future view.

Compatibility issues? Well, for one I think most sites in existence work fine, especially old ones or any government and bank site. Then if some site really shows in a weird manner or has issues I do have both Chrome and Edge installed, so it takes a click to check.

I have seen more and more pop-ups that tell me to use this or that browser, but honestly I find 1e10000 times more annoying the cookie/GDPR thing that's shown everywhere.

PS: for phone I do use Chrome more often but I still have like 5 browsers installed. Mostly to skip annoying sites that limit navigation to a few pages before asking registration.

So what's your opinion? What browser do you use the most, what makes you use it rather than any other?

Charlie98

Diamond Member
Nov 6, 2011
IE became pretty unstable for me, and more and more sites started locking up on it. I've switched to Firefox exclusively; with the addons I've got it takes most of the trouble out of the worst sites.

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
I don't think anybody should use it for a daily driver browser. The alternatives are so much better in every way. Compatibility? Chrome. Privacy? Firefox. Customizability? Vivaldi.

I don't use IE, unless I'm forced to. I know some who still do though. Which results in more and more sites not working properly. Getting them to switch at this point is a hopeless cause, unless MS forcibly removes it. They just won't do it.

I'm actually surprised how well it still works. I'd have thought compatibility was worse. But it is getting worse.

Chiefcrowe

Diamond Member