Interesting, VERY different speaker system I helped to design.

Harvey

Administrator<br>Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
Some of you may know that I'm a musician and an electronic design engineer, mostly pro audio, and mostly a keeper of the black art of analog circuit design. Recently, I had the pleasure of being part of the team that designed and built a unique piece of ear candy called the Space Station, and it's a truly amazing box because it creates a huge stereo sound field from a single enclosure.

Note - I'm not spamming. I designed the analog signal path circuitry from the input jacks to the input of the power amp section, but I don't make anything from sales of the product. I just wanted to share this piece of my work with my fellow members. I think it's about as cool as any audio product I've seen in a long time. :)

Here's a pic:
v3_close_sml.jpg

It's intended for single musicians playing instruments with stereo voices and it's an interesting way to get a good PA blend on vocals, either with or without the instruments in the mix. One of the coolest parts about it is, there's no "sweet spot" between left and right speakers. The effect works all over the room. As a keyboard player, I can hear the same balance on my instrument as the rest of the band and the audience.

Link to some cool videos deomonstrating the effect. They were mixed in stereo, what you're hearing is the sterio playback through the Space Station, and recorded using an M-S (Mid - Side) microphone.

This is one of my favorites. If you want to get the full effect, try listening in headphones. :cool:

Note - The first few minutes of every demo is the owner, Aspen Pittman, talking about it. Aspen also founded Groove Tubes, who sold pre-tested, matched sets of vacuum tubes for guitar amps, etc.

Once you heard his spiel, you can skip the same few minutes on the rest of the tracks, but they're well worth hearing. Hope you like this.

Mar 11, 2004