News Intel GPUs - more reviews coming in!

Page 136 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Tup3x

Senior member
Dec 31, 2016
714
612
136
Ok, tried the new drivers. Encoding AV1 is better, GPU utilization goes up to 60-70% percent (around 50-60% from old drivers) on 1hr45min movie of av1 encoding and time decreased from 27 minutes to 23 minutes. Quality seems the same as old drivers.

Doom Eternal (with RT on) seems to stutter compared previous drivers. Arc Control software is still the same, buggy. GPU still disappears randomly from sleep or shutdown (this is what I disklike the most).
I would be highly surprised if games wouldn't stutter considering that the ReBAR is not enabled.
 

mikk

Diamond Member
May 15, 2012
3,681
1,560
136
Ok, tried the new drivers. Encoding AV1 is better, GPU utilization goes up to 60-70% percent (around 50-60% from old drivers) on 1hr45min movie of av1 encoding and time decreased from 27 minutes to 23 minutes. Quality seems the same as old drivers.

Do you use Handbrake or what software do you use for AV1?
 

mikk

Diamond Member
May 15, 2012
3,681
1,560
136
Handbrake Nightly

I have tried but it's slow and stutters compared to QSVEnc. Also their default settings are really bad. VBR with strict CBR max bitrate and gop size fps*1 which really decreases image quality. FPS*5 is much better.
 

clemsyn

Senior member
Aug 21, 2005
490
155
116
I have tried but it's slow and stutters compared to QSVEnc. Also their default settings are really bad. VBR with strict CBR max bitrate and gop size fps*1 which really decreases image quality. FPS*5 is much better.
I used AV1 10-bit (IntelQSV) with constant bit rate and same as source. The quality is a bit different in encoding. I used constant with an ICQ of 15 it averages the video bitrate to 2500 but again, it depends on the movie. Encoder Options is set to quality both profile and level set to auto. Hope this helps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: igor_kavinski

clemsyn

Senior member
Aug 21, 2005
490
155
116
Thanks friend.

I meant something from your BDs. Maybe an action trailer with high motion. I don't have any BDs! :(
Will do but unfortunately, I don't have the program to cut an AV1, using Video Editor on Windows does not seem to work. I might have to re encode a portion and post it here.

Link sent via PM. I have to lower my ICQ because this certain clip ended with a 5mb/s instead of the usual 2.5mb/s. I adjusted it to get close to 2.5mb/s.
 
Last edited:

psolord

Golden Member
Sep 16, 2009
1,549
851
136
Will do but unfortunately, I don't have the program to cut an AV1, using Video Editor on Windows does not seem to work. I might have to re encode a portion and post it here.

Link sent via PM. I have to lower my ICQ because this certain clip ended with a 5mb/s instead of the usual 2.5mb/s. I adjusted it to get close to 2.5mb/s.
Holy cr$p. Color me impressed mate. Thank you very much for the clip.

Insane quality for 2.5mb/sec.

The i5-8400 at work can run it easily.

av01.png

I believe other users will want to test it.
 

PingSpike

Lifer
Feb 25, 2004
21,706
532
126
@clemsyn Do you know what the idle power consumption looks like? It was pretty terrible in the techpowerup review but there were rumblings new drivers may improve this.
 

Tup3x

Senior member
Dec 31, 2016
714
612
136
If that's the price for 16GB model... then not bad at all (well, even if the 16GB cost more, still). DP 2.0 and AV1 encoding on top.
 

Harry_Wild

Senior member
Dec 14, 2012
767
125
106
I have to stick with my purchase because NVidia 3060 TI Founders Edition has a 2 year track record already and it seems Arc Alchemist A770 just being release now! Might be faster but is it stable? Not an Intel ginny pig!
 
Last edited:

clemsyn

Senior member
Aug 21, 2005
490
155
116
I have to stick with my purchase because NVidia 3060 TI Founders Edition has a 2 year track record already and it seems Arc Alchemist A770 just being release now! Might be faster but is it stable? Not an Intel ginny pig!
The latest version on the A380 is now stable on Doom Eternal (not sure in other games). Unfortunately, I'm having issues with its disappearing act :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: coercitiv

SteinFG

Member
Dec 29, 2021
104
159
76
I'm hearing some speculation from Mlid that intel doesn't make money on this card, and actually losing some on each card.
This doesn't make much sense: let's say nvidia makes a 50% margin on founders edition https://businessquant.com/nvidia-operating-margin-by-segment
3070 is selling for $500 ($250 profit, $250 cost).
A770 is in the same ballpark cost when it comes to [die + pcb + power + memory].
So, A770 turns out to be ~25% margin product ($80 profit, $250 cost).
 

jpiniero

Lifer
Oct 1, 2010
12,562
3,961
136
I'm hearing some speculation from Mlid that intel doesn't make money on this card, and actually losing some on each card.
This doesn't make much sense: let's say nvidia makes a 50% margin on founders edition https://businessquant.com/nvidia-operating-margin-by-segment
3070 is selling for $500 ($250 profit, $250 cost).
A770 is in the same ballpark cost when it comes to [die + pcb + power + memory].
So, A770 turns out to be ~25% margin product ($80 profit, $250 cost).
N6 costs a lot more than SS8.
 

bullzz

Senior member
Jul 12, 2013
404
22
81
I'm hearing some speculation from Mlid that intel doesn't make money on this card, and actually losing some on each card.
This doesn't make much sense: let's say nvidia makes a 50% margin on founders edition https://businessquant.com/nvidia-operating-margin-by-segment
3070 is selling for $500 ($250 profit, $250 cost).
A770 is in the same ballpark cost when it comes to [die + pcb + power + memory].
So, A770 turns out to be ~25% margin product ($80 profit, $250 cost).
A770 will cost more to make since it is on a newer process even though die sizes are similar. Also, margins on a product also depend on other chips on the board. due to higher volume, Nvidia would be getting better margins on them
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY