Question Intel 7th to 10th gen

Skel

Diamond Member
Apr 11, 2001
I've a 7th i7-7700K at 4.2GHz and the motherboard is going out. I'm trying to sort out if I should replace the CPU as well and just rebuild using the new 10th gen stuff, but am very unclear if it's worth the $$. Would it be better to replace with a 9th gen? I haven't kept up with CPUs in a bit so I'm struggling on finding benchmarks and whatnot.. any guidance is very appreciated. I am sticking with Intel.. just personal preference

• Haha
Reactions: spursindonesia

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
Someone did that, and now claims that his rig is running much slower, same monitor / GPU. I'm not quite sure what to make of it.

I've been running a Ryzen CPU for the last 3 years, haven't really touched Intel much lately, since Kaby Lake (G4560, GREAT CPU!), and a few Haswell semi-retro-gaming builds. (Just got a i5-4670 in from another forum member. You know who you are.)

Reactions: Jimzz

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
I've a 7th i7-7700K at 4.2GHz and the motherboard is going out. I'm trying to sort out if I should replace the CPU as well and just rebuild using the new 10th gen stuff, but am very unclear if it's worth the $$. Would it be better to replace with a 9th gen? I haven't kept up with CPUs in a bit so I'm struggling on finding benchmarks and whatnot.. any guidance is very appreciated. I am sticking with Intel.. just personal preference
As Larry said, the latest Intel have been loosers. Ryzen is the only good upgrade at this time, and maybe even the next 2 years. Then who knows.

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004

6th-10th gen are basically all Skylake cores with minor tweaks. Still the same 14nm process.

Do you need more than 4 cores?

If the answer is no, just find a cheap Z270 board and be done with it.

Skel

Diamond Member
Apr 11, 2001