Installing upgrade version of Win 7 on new SSD

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Hanzou, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. Hanzou

    Hanzou Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have reinstalled windows 7 many times but never on a brand new drive. I would always just wipe the partition and install clean. Now for the first time I am installing on a brand new SSD and I am unable to activate it. I get the error that the version is for upgrade only, no clean installs.

    What's the easiest way for me to fix this? I can't install XP first as I have no idea where the disc is and don't want to waste the time. Do I have to call them and explain my situation? I did not format my old drive with the OS on it, will doing that somehow allow me to validate this copy?

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. Billb2

    Billb2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    2
    Legally, you need to buy a Full Install version.
    Google is your friend.....
     
  3. Hanzou

    Hanzou Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    So your saying that microsoft expects you to reinstall XP and then upgrade to 7 every time you reinstall windows?

    That sounds ridiculous. How did MS know before I was "upgrading" before when I would format the delete the partition, create a new one and then make a clean install? Because that has worked in the past. What I am doing right now is essentially the same thing.
     
  4. Tsavo

    Tsavo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just call them. The automated phone activation won't work, so connect to a live person that will lead you through it and you'll be activated in no time.

    Takes about 5 minutes total.

    I've done this a dozen or so times with legitimate versions of upgrades installed fresh and have had zero problems with MS.
     
  5. Tsavo

    Tsavo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ermagerd, eelegul, call the perleese! :rolleyes:
     
  6. postmortemIA

    postmortemIA Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    2
    common trick is: install win 7 once, run upgrade from itself, and it will activate. that is what "google is your friend" means.
     
  7. chucky2

    chucky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1999
    Messages:
    9,020
    Likes Received:
    4
    Install Windows 7.

    Install Windows 7 again (you can even nuke the partition and re-partition if you'd like).

    Problem solved.
     
  8. x26

    x26 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You--You Are not only a Scholar; But a Gentleman as Well. :)

    ETA: I learned that here a few years ago--Saved me from great Anguish!!
     
  9. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE

    Change "MediaBootInstall" from "1" to "0"

    Then open an elevated Dos command (Start > Run > CMD (right click Run as Administrator)

    slmgr /rearm
     
  10. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Same thing MS does when you call them and say it won't activate. Works like a charm.
     
  11. SimMike2

    SimMike2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the first install, don't enter the CD key. Be sure to install the version you have, Home Premium, etc. Once it is installed and fully updated, which might take a couple or maybe three reboots, pop in the disk and "upgrade" your copy, this time entering the CD key.