Installing SSD (ide, ahci)?

Mysterion

Feb 16, 2017
Hi anandtech

Once again I turn to you in despair. English is not my native language and since I am not experienced with computers I hope my description is sufficient to pass an understanding of my issue.

Recently I have been helping a friend installing a SSD and I did a fresh install of Windows 7 on the drive in ahci mode. The computer has a ssd boot drive and a 2tb hdd with two partitions (the old boot drive and a partition for data storage). However when booting the computer crashes at the Windows logo. Unplugging the hdd I am able to boot the ssd with no problemss. I am also able to boot the hdd in ide mode.

My first question is: Are you able to have different modes for the boot drive (ahci) and the storage drive (ide)?

After installing the SSD and reading about ide and ahci I discovered that my own ssd is in ide mode. Back then I did a data transfer with my Samsung 850 evo ssd and formatted my old hdd. I now have a ssd as boot drive and a partitioned hdd. I know that i cannot just switch bios from ide to ahci however I read that it might be able to switch modes even after installation (regedit was required if I am right). However I encountered different opinions regarding if it would be safe (datawise). I might add that I am running Windows 10.

My second question is: Are you able to change mode from ide to ahci post installation?

Finally would the change be noticable to an ordinary user and a gamer?

Thanks in advance.

mikeymikec

Lifer
May 19, 2011
First question: No, but why would you want to? AHCI is better for both.

Second question: Yes. If you're using the Windows AHCI/IDE driver, then you should be able to switch from one mode to the other. If you're using a third party storage driver, then there are other possible outcomes.

Third question: AHCI should be faster in any scenario.

Mysterion

Feb 16, 2017