Question Installed new processor now computer won't boot

Peyton65

Junior Member
Mar 14, 2019
2
0
6
Hello hope someone can help I upgraded from and Fx 6200 to and Fx 8350
I have HP envy
The motherboard says that CPU will work the motherboard recognizes it but it will not boot to window it gets stuck on preparing automatic repair could the graphics card be the problem I have and radon HD 7570 or is it a windows problem
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,346
5,673
136
This is not true.
Yes, I agree, a windows install should not be needed.

HOWEVER, it is possible that a repair install might be needed. If the CPU is that much different. Your is not that different. BUT also, the new one draws a lot more power than the old one. What motherboard and PSU do you have ? and video card also.
 

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
4,938
1,162
136
If you are 100 sure the HP board supports this processor (and you are running a late enough bios for it), then this almost assuredly is a power supply issue. Unless you are configuring the system through the web site HP. Dell, the whole gang will only us a PSU that fits the hardware in the box a purchase with minimal margins. Chances are you need to get a better PSU to power it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: scannall

Midwayman

Diamond Member
Jan 28, 2000
5,220
147
106
I've dropped a windows install on a completely new MB/CPU/RAM/GPU combo and it dutifully detected the changes and booted. I agree on the PS supply. its over 100w more. That or you could have done a super poor job on thermal paste when you swapped CPUs. I had one that would POST fine, but as soon as I started any real task it would get into thermal protection. Did you retain the old heatsink? If its the stock one it might not be enough as well.
 

DONINAUSTIN

Junior Member
Dec 31, 2018
22
4
16
New CPU => you have to reinstall windows.
I am glad nobody told me that! I have been maintaining 7 PCs for a few decades now and have upgraded CPUs too many times to count.. A new CPU has NEVER caused me to have to reinstall windows. Not motherboard replacements either.
 

Spjut

Senior member
Apr 9, 2011
840
44
91
Apart from mentioned above, you could try booting for example Ubuntu from USB to see if it makes any difference.
Have you checked so the BIOS hasn't reverted to its default settings? For example, being set to IDE instead of AHCI, or Legacy BIOS whereas your Win10 installation is UEFI
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY