Incredibly low FPS on Skyrim with 2-way 670 SLI.

TheInternal

Jul 7, 2006
Hey all,

I started playing Skyrim again recently and added the SoSENB to it. I play skyrim on my 2560x1440 27" Catleap Yamakasi 2703. I have an old 24" 1920x1200 dell in portrait mode also hooked up / powered on. In NVIDIA control panel, it\'s set to "maximize 3d performance" and SLI is listed as enabled.

I\'m a little confused why Skyrim is averaging a mere 10-24 FPS. I set everything to ultra in the game, then did a few .ini tweaks suggested on NVIDIA\'s skyrim tweak post, as well as installing and enabling SoSENB. The FPS hangs around 10-20 FPS.

Is there something I need to adjust in a .ini file or something? Is this "normal" for a 2-way SLI rig for this game? Benches I\'ve seen (at a mere 4x AA) suggest 80+ FPS.

I tried disabling SLI, and my FPS is almost identical, suggesting that SLI isn\'t working worth a darn for some reason. GPU utilization on each core never goes over 52%.

Why is my framerate so darn low?

Yes, I\'ve already made sure the SLI bridge was connected firmly.

Relevant specs:

Core i5 3570k - OC at 4.4GHz
dual Gigabyte Geforce 670 GTX cards in 2-way SLI (model GV-N670OC-2GD)
16 GB DDR3
Samsung 830 SSD 256 GB programs drive
Windows 8 Pro
Geforce driver ver. 310.70

Black Octagon

Golden Member
Dec 10, 2012
If it stays the same when you disable SLI, that could mean that SLI is not scaling for some reason. But even then, a single 670 should get more than 10-24fps at 1440p...

Skyrim is a total mess. Not sure if you would consider completely uninstalling and reinstalling (with all the latest patches)? I myself have done this a few times.

Also, just in case it's not obvious, when troubleshooting Skyrim, do so in vanilla (non-modded) mode. Only re-enable mods when vanilla mode is working

aaksheytalwar

Diamond Member
Feb 17, 2012
Even a single 670 should do much better than that. You probably skrewd some ini file or something.

Qbah

Diamond Member
Oct 18, 2005