In baseball..if you hit into a double play that scores a run..

Syringer

Lifer
Aug 2, 2001
19,333
3
71
Does it count as an RBI?

I think I remember seeing that if you hit into a DP and a run scores, that it isn't an RBI. However Eric Chavez did that tonight and was credited with an RBI. Am I just delusional?
 

helpme

Diamond Member
Feb 6, 2000
3,090
0
0
It wouldn't be an RBI because it's a fielder's choice? That could be the only reason why could not be an RBI.

(I don't know if that is true, just speculation)
 

patrick409

Senior member
Aug 13, 2003
233
1
0
i believe it's considered an rbi groundout

probably the same reason you get an rbi with a sac fly.. still making an out,but still driving someone in

not sure though
 

Yossarian

Lifer
Dec 26, 2000
18,010
1
81
no RBI if a runner scores from 3rd on a groundball DP.

10.04 (b) Do not credit a run batted in when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse force double play.

MLB rulebook