In a dual monitor config can you use 1 monitor to play a game and the other to browse the internet/office work?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by RussianSensation, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,169
    Likes Received:
    117
    Do either ATI or Nvidia cards allow you to play a game on 1 monitor while the 2nd monitor is simultaneously used for other tasks such as browsing the internet, word/excel documents, etc?

    My friend has mentioned that with his GF7 card, the 2nd monitor turns off when he launches a game.
     
  2. Adam8281

    Adam8281 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm pretty sure that almost every modern card lets you do this. I don't do it personally, but I've watched a lot of friends play WoW on one monitor while they browse on the other.
     
  3. ROEHUNTER

    ROEHUNTER Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct me if I'm wrong , but to do this you have to be playing the game in windowed mode as full screen mode will take the cursor control away and if you click on your second monitor it will minimize the game.
     
  4. Jakeisbest

    Jakeisbest Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    totally correct!

    I am using GeForce 7800gt and 2 monitors. One of the main games I still play is Warcraft 3. If I run the game in full screen mode you still have to alt+tab to be able to access the other monitor. However, my second monitor does not turn off, it just displays what ever window I left open on it. When i play WoW I usually leave the guide I was reading open on one screen and then play on the other.

    The only way to be able to have access to both at the same time is to run the game in a windowed mode. OR you could have a 2nd computer running the 2nd monitor, then use a mouse / keyboard switch. You just have to hit the switch to access the 2nd monitor then hit it back to go back into you game.

    Hope this helps.

     
  5. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,169
    Likes Received:
    117
    Thanks guys.

    I realize that once the game is on, then that screen become the active screen. I was just concerned if you can still view the information on the other screen (even if it remains static - i.e. reading a webpage).

     
  6. wbynum

    wbynum Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing you have to deal with is if you run the game a different resolution than the 2nd monitor, the windows will be oddly shifted around on the second monitor.
     
  7. LOUISSSSS

    LOUISSSSS Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,393
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a dual monitor setup and play CS:S on the primary monitor while using the second to monitor my system temps, CPU/ram/network/disk usage, and read IM's.

    but to switch out to send IM's i'd have to ALT-TAB out of the game as usual
     
  8. Pantlegz

    Pantlegz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been running dual monitors for a while now, you do not have to alt tab, just run the game in windowed mode and maximize it. I have yet to run into a game that can't be run in windowed mode. This also helps with resolution differences, the game could be at 1920x1200 and your desktop could be 1280x1024(?). The only types of games I dont' like to run windowed are shooters, sometimes I get a lil mouse crazy and end up getting out of the window and end up dead :( .