I'm studying to become a Catholic Priest.

Viper0329

Platinum Member
Oct 12, 2000
I've been a member of this online community for quite some time now, but I only post on rare occasions. I've had the great privilege of making some real life friends through this board, I've been introduced to many new ideas and perspectives on life and the universe.

Over the past few days, I've noticed quite a few threads about religion, so I thought I'd make one that is a bit more personal and perhaps even encouraging for other people.

For the past three years, I have been in seminary formation for the Catholic Priesthood. I just graduated with my bachelor's degree in Philosophy, and I'm about to begin the next phase of formation. Beginning Sunday, I'm traveling to Rome at the request of my Bishop to begin my studies for my master's degree and, God willing, ordination to the Priesthood in 2011.

Some people, as expressed by posts in various threads, feel that religious people, especially clerics, are quite naive about the nature of the universe, mankind, the world, and even science. I've intensively studied many of the major philosophers from a wide variety of philosophical viewpoints. From Plato and the Ancients to Russell and the Philosophers of Language, I've come in contact with almost all the major fields of philosophical inquiry.

I believe in the power and knowledge of science. Yes, I believe in evolution. Yes, I believe that science is just beginning to show its real capabilities about explaining the behavior of the universe. There is so much we can learn about the human body, medicine, quantum mechanics, technology, space, and other things that will make the quality of life for humans everywhere so much better than it is now.