I'm having a hard time finding a job in Orange County......

Delta6Echo

Jun 1, 2007
Hey ATOT,

I have been trying to find a job for the past few months, but haven't had much success. I did get a few interviews and everything is great up until the point of the call back.

I feel like I've been really close to being hired, but I think that something always goes wrong at the very end and I don't end up getting an offer. I have experience in marketing, advertising, sales, real estate, and have worked for two non-profit organizations.

I have a bachelor's degree in Public Relations and I am tri-lingual. Public relations is writing intensive so I always show employers writing samples and they are typically impressed.

I just feel like I am looking in the wrong places. What can I do to get more interviews and eventually a full-time job? Any tips?

Also, what websites besides Yahoo/Monster/Career Builder can I use? I see the same jobs posted over and over again and don't get too many responses via e-mail.

Thanks in advance for any insight :)

Gibson486

Lifer
Aug 9, 2000
1. Career Builder and all those other sites can show you entry level jobs, but they are geared more towards experienced people, so there are lots of missed oppurtunities if that is all you are doing.

2. job market for new graduates suck. Not many companies are willing to invest in the new comers lately. I know because I have been looking since May also.

3. If you notice, some of the same jobs get posted over and over again. Don't bother with them. The company is trying to build its resume portfolio for when they actually do want to hire. It could be months or even a year before they actually do hire for that position or a similair one.

4. Do a search for companies in your area. Lots of these companies never post on Monster or yahoo because they rely on recruiters to get workers for them.

JulesMaximus

No Lifer
Jul 3, 2003