Im getting my new Radeon 128 8500.....

SeaSerpent

Platinum Member
Sep 24, 2001
2,612
3
81
MONDAY!!! I cant wait. Do you think Ill notice a differance between that and my old ASUS GeForce2 Deluxe 32mb?:D
 

sMashPiranha

Senior member
Oct 15, 1999
580
0
0
Yes, you should notice a good difference. I just went from a GTS to a 64mb 8500LE, I really needed the upgrade for Morrowind mostly.
 

VSEKH

Member
Jun 10, 2002
151
0
0
You'll notice a big difference. Make sure you download and install the latest Catalyst drivers. If you would have bought this 8500 when it came out, I would have said NO. But, ATIs has finally released stable drivers for this video card. Enjoy it. I am using this card right now and the video quality is awesome.
 

BFG10K

Lifer
Aug 14, 2000
22,068
1,240
126
There'll be a massive difference, just be sure to remove all traces of your nVidia card and its' drivers and make sure you have the latest BIOS and chipset drivers for your system before you switch cards.
 

Tates

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 25, 2000
9,079
10
81
There'll be a massive difference, just be sure to remove all traces of your nVidia card and its' drivers and make sure you have the latest BIOS and chipset drivers for your system before you switch cards.
Ditto.

BTW, congrats on a fine choice :)
 

Cadaver

Senior member
Feb 19, 2002
344
0
0
I'm most happy with my Radeon 8500 128MB (not LE) card.
With a slight overclock I get a score of 9555 on 3DMark2001SE. Excellent image quality, great DVD video quality with low CPU usage.
Jedi Knight II is smooth as silk at 1280x1024 @ 32bit with 4xAF on!
And I paid only $146 for the card at buy.com! Just can't beat the card for the money. A GeForce 4 Ti 4200 would be negligably faster for $50 more...
 

Brizanicus

Junior Member
Dec 10, 2001
12
0
0
Hey!

I just purchased and installed the ATi Radeon 8500 128MB model also. I gave my old Radeon 32MB DDR model to my brother-in-law for his new PC. For me 2D image quality and DVD playback is just as important as 3D frame rates. I only have one problem, the 60Hz refresh rate mess with WindowsXP in games. What are you guys using as a fix?
 

Cadaver

Senior member
Feb 19, 2002
344
0
0
Originally posted by: Brizanicus
Hey!

I just purchased and installed the ATi Radeon 8500 128MB model also. I gave my old Radeon 32MB DDR model to my brother-in-law for his new PC. For me 2D image quality and DVD playback is just as important as 3D frame rates. I only have one problem, the 60Hz refresh rate mess with WindowsXP in games. What are you guys using as a fix?
Use the links in the post right above mine...
I use a 17" LCD display, so I don't notice refresh rate changes...
 

Brizanicus

Junior Member
Dec 10, 2001
12
0
0
Thank you all very much.

I downloaded and installed RefreshLock and still had problems with my refresh rate. With my refresh rate set to 85Hz my monitor, an Iiyama Vision Master 450 19" crt, and the Display Properties Monitor tab still said 75Hz. I changed my refresh rate to 100Hz and still had the same problem. I deactived RefreshLock and unchecked "DDC" from the Display Properties Monitor tab, set the refresh rate to 85Hz, ran RefreshLock and set it to 85Hz and everything is good. Since that time I have rebooted several times with no problems; rock solid.

I for one am very happy with WindowsXP Pro. But, this whole refresh rate fiasco is dick. Microsoft should of had a patch for something as seemingly simple as this within a week or two.

Thanks again.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY