I'm considering SLI - Does microstutter always occur?

mashumk

May 19, 2012
SLI newbie here.

I'm seeing a modest increase in companies pumping out 1440p/1600p IPS monitors and foresee a modest price war in the coming months. That's what I've been waiting for.

I've never had more than 1 GPU. The only microstutter I've seen is youtube clips. Don't know how accurate they represent the problem, but I'm a person who would be bugged more and more over time by that tiny but always present stutter.

So I'd like to upgrade to a single 1440 or 1600p IPS when the reliable brands start dropping prices and adding more choices. Not gonna gamble on the Korean monitor Ebay slot machine.

I'm sure my GTX 670 4GB would start to struggle at ultra settings on such a monitor. I'm guessing it's best to wait til the next gen and lower visual settings for games in the meantime.

Basically, is microstuttering still not wiped out? Is there significant improvement with this generation of cards?

Thank you.

The_Golden_Man

Apr 7, 2012
Honestly, many years ago I ran 2x 7800GT in SLI, and a few years ago I ran GTX 260 SLI, and now I have GTX 670 SLI. I've never experienced any microstutter.

However, Sweclockers.com did a test on this, and it turned out Crossfire was far worse than SLI with regards to microstuttering.

They also found that the midrange/lower end cards, when in SLI/crossfire had more microstuttering than High-end cards in SLI/Crossfire. But as said, Crossfire was far worse and where really noticable for them.

Last edited:

Agent-A01

Jul 6, 2012
I dont experience any microstutter with 580sli. Kepler is supposed to be better about that too

borisvodofsky

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2010
Micro-stutter is only really apparent when using Vsync. It's not like a frame dip, but a slight "glitched" frame feel.