I'm a student, do I keep my PC + Laptop combo or buy a gaming laptop?

anthd56

Oct 16, 2013
Hey there, I'm currently a 2nd year Electronic Engineering student halfway through my 4 year course and I have 2 devices at the moment. I have a self-built PC with a Haswell Pentium, 10GB RAM, 500GB Velociraptor, HD7750 and 24" 1080P screen + 19" second montior, along with a Dell E6220 12" Sandy i5 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, HD3000 and 65Wh Battery.

I live about 300 miles from home and spent roughly 4 months a home per year. The problem is, I can't really realistically take my PC home during summer etc so last summer I rolled with just my laptop and it was good enough. But I'm now at the stage of needing to upgrade my PC to fit my needs or I could sell my parts and get a gaming laptop. I've just bought an 8GB stick to replace the the 2x2GB setup, meaning I have 10GB RAM due to only 2 RAM slots. RAM has been an issue lately as I run 20+ tabs on average. I feel like I need a CPU upgrade as I can feel FPS drops when I open something whilst gaming, though the frames jump back up when its loaded. I don't play very much games anymore, just the occasional league of legends game and maybe GTA 5 when that comes out on PC.

I'm planning to just bump my CPU to an i3 or i5, and perhaps an SSD, but for the same amount of money if I sold my laptop and all my PC parts, 24" monitor, Nexus 7 2013 32GB, I could easily get something like the Clevo W550 15" with a i7 4712MQ, 8GB RAM, GT850M, 256GB SSD, 1080p IPS screen, 63Wh battery at 2.2KG or a Clevo W230 with a i7 4710MQ, 8GB RAM, GTX860M, 256GB SSD, 3200x1800 IPS Screen and 63Wh battery at 2KG.