Ignorance exceeds progress in Iraq!

BaliBabyDoc

Lifer
Jan 20, 2001
So much for the hearts and minds campaign
BAGHDAD (Reuters) - U.S. soldiers fired above the heads of thousands of Iraqi government workers protesting on Tuesday after hearing that the Americans had detained a woman for refusing to be searched using a sniffer dog.

"I have been coming here for 27 years and now they (Americans) are searching us with dogs. We are Muslims," Saadiya Ahmad, an oil ministry engineer said.

Dogs are considered unclean in Islamic culture.
Oops . . .

Zainab Assim, an oil ministry employee, said she had tried to intervene when her colleague refused the search.
"I told them (the Americans) to stop it and a woman soldier slapped me across the face," she said. "Every day the dogs put their noses inside our bags and slobber over our belongings."
Can you feel the love?

Some employees eventually began filing into the ministries, passing through metal detectors, but there was no doubt about the anti-American mood.
"We don't just want the dogs to leave. We want the dogs who are holding the dogs to leave, every last one of them," said one employee, Nazir Mohammed.

Now for the FOXNews version . . . I guess quotes were hard to come by.
rolleye.gif

Pushing and punching followed between soldiers and Iraqis, Americans struck out with rifle butts, and soon about 100 Iraqis had gathered in angry protest outside the huge, modern building on Baghdad's northern edge, leading the Americans to fire shots in the air, the witnesses said.

Hmm, I wonder why the discrepancy between the two reports. The initial incident likely happened as people were initially coming to work . . . but the protest that required rifle fire to disperse . . . was only about 100 people?

JackStorm

Golden Member
Aug 26, 2003
<sarcams>Well, they're ONLY dogs, why should the US Soldiers have to respect their belives?</sarcams>