If I get paid via Paypal by a company, do I have to report it?

Q

Lifer
Jul 21, 2005
OK, I might get a job that pays me $225/month via Paypal (just small amnt while I'm in college), so from what I understand, if I keep that money in my Paypal account, I don't need to report it to IRS.

But, what if I want some in my bank account? Then what, do I have to file a 1099 or something? If so, how hard are those? I'm only 18 so I really only know how to do a W-2 or whatever they are called.

bctbct

Diamond Member
Dec 22, 2005
Usually if you receive more than $600 IIRC in wages you will receive a 1099 from the company, you will have to claim that as income.

NiteWulf

Golden Member
Jan 3, 2003
You do have to report it even if it stays in your account. I think the 1099 is the right form for you, but I'm a novice in taxes. If the 225/month is all you are making this year you don't have to file taxes anyway (of course you will want to if they're taking income tax out. You'll get a refund if this is the case)

Q

Lifer
Jul 21, 2005
No, $225/month isn't all I'm going to make, just for 9 months out of the year. Other 3 will be probably $2K.

I don't think the website is going to provide a 1099 for me...or do they have to? I looked online to see the form and it looks confusing and talks about weird crap about brokers and stuff?

mugs

Lifer
Apr 29, 2003
Originally posted by: Quintox
No, $225/month isn't all I'm going to make, just for 9 months out of the year. Other 3 will be probably $2K.

I don't think the website is going to provide a 1099 for me...or do they have to? I looked online to see the form and it looks confusing and talks about weird crap about brokers and stuff?