I7 9700K / Overclock

May 30, 2013
106
1
81
#1
I upgraded the motherboard, CPU and RAM, and i'd like to OC the CPU, but not sure if the cooler - Noctua NH-D15 would be good enough for this
I'd be more than happy with 4,9 GHz OC
What do you think guys ? I could replace the cooler with some better AiO cooling, if necessary

RoG Maximus XI Hero
I7 9700K
32 GB DDR4 ( 3200 MHz )

GTX 1080Ti
The power supply is Corsair RM 750
Case : Thermaltake Chaser MK-I
If i OC the CPU, do I have to disable the Turbo, first ?!
Any advices are welcome, thank you very much, in advance
 

Ed1

Senior member
Jan 8, 2001
421
0
81
#2
My guess would be fine, I am not a fan of AIO so would also go HS if had your system.
I personally was thinking NH-U14S.
As long as you don't have to go real high on Vcore I think you are fine, but why not run quick test with prime95 (or whatever you like) I would go older versions with not so much AVX in them as that is just not real life load IMO (unless you use apps that use it)
You can always set it 1-2 lower multiplier in bios for AVX loads
 

ehume

Golden Member
Nov 6, 2009
1,301
3
91
#3
NH+D15 is better than the NH-U14S.
Source: my own review on Overclockers. I tested them on an i7 8700K at 5 GHz, all heatsinks tested in 2018. Same MB, CPU, OC, Vcore, everything. Stressing software was LinX 0.6.5, which is a frontend for Linpack+AVX2 and with no allowance for reducing OC. You can read the chart for yourself. I think you will agree that the D15 from 2013 still can beat the U14S in 2018.
 

Ed1

Senior member
Jan 8, 2001
421
0
81
#4
NH+D15 is better than the NH-U14S.
Source: my own review on Overclockers. I tested them on an i7 8700K at 5 GHz, all heatsinks tested in 2018. Same MB, CPU, OC, Vcore, everything. Stressing software was LinX 0.6.5, which is a frontend for Linpack+AVX2 and with no allowance for reducing OC. You can read the chart for yourself. I think you will agree that the D15 from 2013 still can beat the U14S in 2018.
I was not saying the NH-U14S is better or even same as the dual tower NH-D14/15. I was just saying that is what I was going to pick.
IMO the dual tower is just to much weight for my taste and the U14S does come almost same as an NH-D15S.
I will check out your review, sadly HS have not reviewed so much anymore.
 
May 30, 2013
106
1
81
#5
I asked ehume ( PM ) if it's safe to OC the CPU, because i did not connect the 4 pins cable, to the mainboard

Only the 24 pins ( to the right side of the mainboard ) and the 8 pins, on top of the mainboard
There is another free slot, 4 pins.
Could i try to OC, without this ?
 

Attachments

Ed1

Senior member
Jan 8, 2001
421
0
81
#6
I asked ehume ( PM ) if it's safe to OC the CPU, because i did not connect the 4 pins cable, to the mainboard

Only the 24 pins ( to the right side of the mainboard ) and the 8 pins, on top of the mainboard
There is another free slot, 4 pins.
Could i try to OC, without this ?
You don't need to use those, especially if your working with air and will not go above 5ghz or so.
That plug is optional for extreme OC.
 

Campy

Senior member
Jun 25, 2010
600
5
91
#7
You don't need the 4pin.
 
May 30, 2013
106
1
81
#8
Okay, thank you, guys.
As I said, if I could OC to 4,9 GHz, i'd be more than happy ( for X-Plane 11 flight simulator, CPU bound )
 
May 30, 2013
106
1
81
#9
I tried to OC to 4,9 GHz
CPUZ shows 4,9 GHz, and as soon I start the test ( OCCT ) the clock drops to 3 - 2, 8 GHz
Am I doing something wrong ?
The temps are fine when the clock drops
Thank you

LE :
I tested some CPU bound flight sims ( X-Plane, P3D ) with MSI Afterburner.
The average temps are 55-60 C and the OC is 4,9 ( i tried with 5.0 GHz, too ) so i didn't see any issues, so far.
Only when i do the stress test with OCCT, the clock went down
 
Last edited:

Campy

Senior member
Jun 25, 2010
600
5
91
#10
You're probably bumping into power limits. Here's a link to a decent overclocking guide by Der8auer. The BIOS and setup should be very similar to what you want to achieve.
 

The Sauce

Diamond Member
Oct 31, 1999
4,711
4
81
#11
Maximus Hero is set to default 95W on the CPU. Any overclock will easily get you over 140W. The only way to get there is to remove all power limits. I was current limit throttling hard until I did that. Once I did I was able to run up to 5200 pretty quickly.
 

Ed1

Senior member
Jan 8, 2001
421
0
81
#13
Does the Z390 Maximus Hero have VRM temp monitoring?

I am curious if any high temps with 5ghz OC or stability issues.
 

The Sauce

Diamond Member
Oct 31, 1999
4,711
4
81
#14
Running steady now 5100 @ 1.375v. No stability issues. Have not monitored VRM temps.
 

Campy

Senior member
Jun 25, 2010
600
5
91
#15
Does the Z390 Maximus Hero have VRM temp monitoring?

I am curious if any high temps with 5ghz OC or stability issues.
It's certainly not the best VRM you can get for that much money, but it won't get crazy hot either, even with an overclocked 9900K.
 

The Sauce

Diamond Member
Oct 31, 1999
4,711
4
81
#16
I believe that over-engineered VRMs like in the Gigabyte boards are designed specifically for producing good review numbers during system stress testing, and not for actual daily use. Maybe if you are mining and running at 80-100% CPU all day that is a factor. For gaming and productivity not an issue. The ASUS boards offer value in other areas that I think makes a reasonable (maybe superior) tradeoff regarding the better UEFI and sound system.
 

b3lcebu

Junior Member
Dec 15, 2018
4
0
6
#17
I fixed it, thank you
This CPU its amazing
What voltage are u using for 5.0 all coreS? And what was your idle/load max temps on tests with the Noctua? Just got a 9700k with a z390 aorus pro planning to OC to 5.0 with a Dark Rock Pro 4. Also i only have the 8 pin CPU connector, dont have the aditional 4.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS