i7 920 stock.. over heating?? =S

Chronictee

Aug 12, 2010
Hello, I am new to overclocking, and I was thinking about overclocking my I7920. I ran Prime95 stress with coretemp just to check out my cooling. The temperature of my processor began at 38c and kept raising to almost 90 then i stopped the stress test. I have an antec 1200 case with stock 7 fans. is there something going wrong with my fans? Because i think 87c for a stock processor is high isnt? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

_tyler

LoneNinja

Jan 5, 2009
Simple answer is the I7 consumes next to nothing idle, while being a power hungry beast under load. Yes that is really hot for a stock processor, but I haven't heard anything about an I7 other than it runs hot. Your going to need an aftermarket cooler if you plan to overclock it, as you can see at stock with the stock heat sink it already runs really hot.

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
The low idle temperature is partially a product of EIST/Speedstep. Disable that, and your idle temps should be much higher (not that you should want that).

Your CPU's stock HSF may be mounted improperly, or it may be that the HSF itself is barely adequate for the task of cooling the 920 as LoneNinja suggests.

Rifter

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
if its the stock cooler thats the problem. They suck, really bad as you found out depending on ambient temps they sometimes overheat even at stock speeds. Spend $40-60 on a good cooler and then shoot for 4Ghz.

Chronictee

Aug 12, 2010
I was checking out the box it came in, and it said the fans were the "best gaming" heres a link to the case i got http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=Njkz I was wondering is there an option somewhere I could change the speed of the two fans at the rear of the case, the three fans at the front have dials. when I play games on my pc the temp goes to 60c. is that too high for stock? and what are some good aftermarket fans i could switch in?

wpcoe

Nov 13, 2007