• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz Temp, vcore, and stress test questions

Bloodstriker

Member
Nov 24, 2008
71
0
0
I just OC'ed my 920 to 3.4GHz following a guide from bit-tech.net.

My temps were:

Stock: Idle - 39c Load - 62c
3.4GHz: Idle - 44c Load 75c

Temps seem high on load. I was hoping for high 60s/ low 70s.

Is this safe?

As per the guide, I set vcore to 1.35. I'd like to set this lower, but I'm not sure if there's anything else I have to adjust as well to compensate?

I'd also like to run an overnight stress test with prime95. How do I do this?

(sorry for all the questions - this is my first OC)

Edit:

I'm checking CPU-Z now and it's showing memory timing as CL 9-9-9-24, however, if I remember correctly, it was showing is CL7-7-7-20? Is there any chance that this might have altered?

And to clarify on the CPU voltage question. I currently have it set to 1.35V, and the QPI/DRAM to 1.35V. If I want to lower to say, 1.20V - 1.30V, do both CPU Voltage and QPI/DRAM (uncore) need to be identical?

I'm wanting to drop the volts to see if I can lower the temps a bit.
 

cboath

Senior member
Nov 19, 2007
368
0
71
I'm at 3.4, too, and here's my settings for comparision:

Idle 38-40 - Load 68-70

Vcore/QPI - 1.25
Mem - 1.6

Ram settings 9-9-9-24

The Ram is set to Auto on my board, so presumably the board could adjust it or you.

If my temps are high, i too, would like to know. However, from what i've been able to tell, they're more middling than anything else.

 

Loki427

Junior Member
Jul 1, 2009
4
0
0
Hi,
I currently have my 920 running at 3.8(including speedstep) using 1.30V. I was able to get it above 4.0+ but the increase in temperature was too much to allow for such a small gain. here are my temps:
Idle: 27C
Load: 58C
Ambient: ~22C

Perhaps lowering your voltages a tad would help, and what cooler and fan are you using? Does your case have good airflow?
As for Prime95, you should be able to start the test with 8 threads, and just let it run by itself.
For QPI/DRAM I recommend looking at some of the videos available on the nets. Good luck!
 

Tavaman

Junior Member
Sep 12, 2005
3
0
0
Just an idea: Are you using quality thermal paste? Did you apply is correctly?
 

cboath

Senior member
Nov 19, 2007
368
0
71
Might help to name what you're using for cooling.

If you're on stock cooling, 75 at load might be the norm.

27/58 seems like watercooling to me, but i'm not expert. 27 is just about 5-6F over room temp...
 

Bloodstriker

Member
Nov 24, 2008
71
0
0
Wow. 27/58 @ 3.8GHz? What kind of cooling do you use?

I'm currently cooling with a Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme 1366 using only the fan that came with it. (I'm looking for somewhere that sells the same fan holder so I can add a second fan to the heat sink - I'd rather not deal with fan clips).

This is my 2nd reseating of the TRUE120. I used MX-2 with the cross method. (I wanted to do line method, but coudn't figure out which way the line was supposed to go).

Also, the TRUE is not lapped.

My system:

i7 920 @ 3.4GHz
Asus P6T Deluxe
6GB (3x2) Patriot Extreme Performance Viper 1333
Radeon HD4870 1GB
Enermax Infiniti 650W 80+
Thermalright Ultra eXtreme 120 1366
Antec P182

I'm going to try to mimic cboath's settings with Vcore/Qpi - 1.25, Mem - 1.6.

I did try vcore/qpi - 1.25, mem - 1.50, but something strange happened. When Windows booted, I checked CPU-Z and it read stock cpu clock settings. I went back to bios and found a lot of settings reverted back to stock?

I wondering if the P6T knows that I messed it up too badly and reset? (I hear that this board doesn't do that though).
 

Bloodstriker

Member
Nov 24, 2008
71
0
0
update:

I set vcore/qpi to 1.25 and memory 1.66. Temps are now 41C idle and 66C load. Idle temps aren't too much change, while load temps are 9C down!

Now I need to make sure this is stable.

I also read that going above 1.65v on mem will damage the cpu, but I also read that it's only the case if QPI and mem voltage has a difference of 0.50 or more, so I'm assuming I'm safe with my settings?

Also, What settings do you guys have for CPU PLL voltage? I don't even know what this does... I followed the guide and set it to 1.96.....
 

jandlecack

Senior member
Apr 25, 2009
244
0
0
You guys are lucky. It's hot as hell over here, with no aircon as it normally doesn't get that hot, and I'm getting idle temps between 40 and 44 at 1.2V and 3.6GHZ. I used to get in the range of 33 to 38 idle.

Load they're not that much different from before, luckily.
 

imported_Shaq

Senior member
Sep 24, 2004
732
0
0
Originally posted by: Bloodstriker
update:

I set vcore/qpi to 1.25 and memory 1.66. Temps are now 41C idle and 66C load. Idle temps aren't too much change, while load temps are 9C down!

Now I need to make sure this is stable.

I also read that going above 1.65v on mem will damage the cpu, but I also read that it's only the case if QPI and mem voltage has a difference of 0.50 or more, so I'm assuming I'm safe with my settings?

Also, What settings do you guys have for CPU PLL voltage? I don't even know what this does... I followed the guide and set it to 1.96.....
Whoa....better put that back down. 1.96v is way over max of 1.88v. At 3.4 you should be okay at the default 1.80v. Mine is okay at 1.8v until I try for 4.0 and it needs 1.88v to do it so I leave it at 3.9. You should not need over 1.3v qpi until you get over 3.8 and at 3.4 you probably only need 1.26 or so.
 

Bloodstriker

Member
Nov 24, 2008
71
0
0
Originally posted by: Shaq
Whoa....better put that back down. 1.96v is way over max of 1.88v. At 3.4 you should be okay at the default 1.80v. Mine is okay at 1.8v until I try for 4.0 and it needs 1.88v to do it so I leave it at 3.9. You should not need over 1.3v qpi until you get over 3.8 and at 3.4 you probably only need 1.26 or so.
Yowzers. I just dropped it down to 1.80v.

I'll list out my current settings to see what you think, or if there's something else that I messed up on.

Ai Overclock Tuner: XMP (Option 1)
CPU Ratio Setting: Auto
Intel SpeedStep (TM) Tech: Enabled
Intel Turbo Mode Tech: Enabled
BCLK Frequency: 170
PCIE Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: DDR3-1333 (or close to that)

CPU Voltage: 1.25
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.80
QPI/DRAM Voltage: 1.25

DRAM Bus Voltage: 1.60

CPU Differential Amplitude: 800mV

CPU Ratio Setting: 20.0


One question I have is that when I use XMP Option one, it seems to want to set DRAM Bus Voltage to 1.66. I lowered it to 1.60. Should I leave it a 1.60, or change to 1.66 or even 1.64?

Also, I have no idea what CPU Differential Amplitude should be set at. This value is following the Bit-Tech guide, and it seems some of the settings that they had was too agressive. Is 800mV okay? or should I set back to auto?


 

ASK THE COMMUNITY